downloading books

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by leda, Jan 12, 2011.

1. leda

leda iPF Noob

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello I am new at this just got an ipad can someone advise me which is the best site to download books .. looking at ePad library Ipad library The Novel network ....or is there something better ... thank you
  2. iPadCharlie

iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    The "biggie" in terms of selection is the Kindle app from Amazon. The app is free, btw. And while the actual reader app is only average, the selection of books from Amazon can not be matched by anyone.

There are also free readers from Barnes & Noble and Borders. There are also several good readers for reading "generic" electronic publications such as Stanza and GoodReader.
  3. Jeeper

Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    I'm also looking for books. Any sights that include brief descriptions? Like you find on the rear cover (when browsing in an actual book store). I rarely know exactly what I'm looking for :)
  4. emm

emm iPad Fan

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Amazon's website gives these descriptions, plus many reader comments. You can download free samples to try out. Then Amazon bombards you with recommendations for similar books, bit sometimes this is useful for finding out about new books. Subscribe to the blog Books On the Knob for news on free and low priced books.
  5. Jeeper

Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Thanks, I'll look again. Must a' missed 'em.
  6. Diane B

Diane B iPad Junkie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0