What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Downloaded Documents

collett

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Full disclosure: I am a total Apple newbie. This iPad Air 2 is the only Apple product I've ever used. So on PC and Android if I download a document it goes into my documents folder. Where do downloaded documents go on the iPad? How do I locate recent downloads? I promise I did search the forum, but nothing resulted.
Thanks for the help.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
For the most part documents stay in the app that created them. If you download a document in Safari or the Mail app, you need to copy that file to a compatible app. There is no folder where they just automatically show up.

For instance, if you tap on a PDF file in Safari it will download and display that file. When you are viewing the file there will be Open In options at the top right of the screen. This tends to go away (so as not to clutter you view) but you can tap the center of the screen to bring it back.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1443918310.571676.jpg

When you choose the generic Open In, you'll be presented with a Share Sheet; a list of compatible apps and actions. Choose one and that's where the file goes. In some cases Apple may present you with a shortcut "Open In XXX". How it chooses this app is a mystery, but if there is an Apple app available, it's almost always that. iBooks always shows up for ePub files, and almost always for PDF.