What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

DOS like File Manager

Rob.Skully

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,
I hope to learn ALOT from this forum so please bare with me.
I have been using a CPU since about 1988 before Windows became popular.
Started out using the DOS version of AutoCad then went to the Windows
O/S platform since then. I was introduced to the I-phone & I-Pad idea
this past Winter. Was driving up North to snowmobile and while I was driving
my buddy hooked up his I-phone to his I-pad and was surfing the web
as I drove. I thought ... Way Too KEWL !
He showed me a few apps he had loaded and I thought it was neat.
So now I need something so versitile like this for accessing the Web
during lunch ;-) because it is frowned upon at work. Also seamed nice
to have since I do not own a smartphone (just a regular cell phone).
I want to do some side work and figured it would be of great use to
have access to the Web anytime & anywhere. It look to be pretty easy
to use (I-Pad 2) and I think I will get ahold of the Apple O/S down once
I get to use it alot. I am not fimilar with the whole "App's" idea yet :-(
One question I have not been able to get answered yet either from the
Apple site, the Apple Store (near where I work) or the few people at
work (they also mostly DOS based users). Is how do you handle non music or video files ?
I am use to using File Manager (older Windows version) or Explore (not
Internet Explorer). I plan on getting the 64 Gig WiFi/3G version.
I was wondering if someone sends me a file via an E-mail how do I file it
to a certain directory ? In the DOS O/S you make directories and folders.