Does the iPad have GPS functionality

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by poshpantspaddy, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. poshpantspaddy

    poshpantspaddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Does the iPad have GPS functionality? both variants, none or 3G version only?
     
  2. kierandill

    kierandill iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't find the review I read about this, but it was the deciding factor in me ordering a 3G, because it uses A-GPS, and locates you much more accurately than the Wifi-only model.
     
  3. poshpantspaddy

    poshpantspaddy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for that!
     
  4. Phantom

    Phantom iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    London - NY
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes the 3G Model does. I use Co-Pilot with no problem.
     
  5. Sonny Burnett

    Sonny Burnett iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    The 3Gs come with a built-in GPS.
     
  6. Seadog

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    The 3G has satellite GPS, plus uses cell tower GPS to speed the acquisition time, from what I understand.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

does ipad have gps