Does the Cellular Version Use a Sim Card?

Discussion in 'iPad Pro Forum' started by Sid_007, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. Sid_007

    Sid_007
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    This is my first post here after signing up. I have not yet done the intro thing over at that forum, but, plan to do so soon.

    I'm quite new to iPads having purchased a 9.7 about six months ago to see if I wanted to go with the Apple line since it's the only tablet for which the superb Procreate software is written. I didn't add the Apple Pencil when I learned that it wasn't compatible with that model. Thus, you can see how new I am to using the iPad.

    However, I will be purchasing a new Pro 2 (12.9) and pencil soon.

    My question in this post is related to using cellular with the iPad. Do cellular models have sim card slots (ports?) ? If not, how are they set up for cellular?

    Thanx!

    Sid
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,280
    Thanks Received:
    10,477
  3. Mickeylittle

    Mickeylittle
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    353
    Thanks Received:
    95
    And for me I got the 12.9 a couple nights ago and was able to activate it here in my living room shortly after unblocking it. It took less than 2-3 minutes. I am with AT&T so there will be a $25 activation fee on my next bill. What a rip off since I didn't even call anyone to complete the process. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Sid_007

    Sid_007
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanx, J.A. just what I needed to know. Super that you included the link.
     
  5. Sid_007

    Sid_007
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Mickey, that's a priceless shot of Aaron Rogers!.
     
  6. J. A.

    J. A.
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    18,280
    Thanks Received:
    10,477
    Glad to help.
     
  7. Yptcn

    Yptcn
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Just wondering . I'm ordering the Pro 10.5 + Cellular . I'll insert my french sim card and use it as usual at home .

    My question is : There is an  sim integrated I believe , so when I travel , instead of getting a local sim and switching with my french one , I can use the  sim ?
    If so , how do I go from one to the other ?
     
  8. Black_Creek

    Black_Creek
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    2
    You can choose it in the mobile data section in the settings app. But the plans which you can get there are very very expensive! I checked it on my trip to italy. It is much better to get a prepaid sim from a local provider!
     
  9. Yptcn

    Yptcn
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Thank you
     

Share This Page