1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Does ipad 3G works in India? Help!! SOS!!

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by bachelor, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. bachelor
    Offline

    bachelor iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm planning to buy a new iPad 3G from US but I'm very much confused that will it work fine with Indian 3G networks like MTNL and BSNL? I don't have technical information about it. Is there anyone who is using iPad 3G in India? Please clear the questions...

    and Please tell me.. Do we have to Jailbreak or it works fine? and if it works fine, why iPad jailbreak is available on internet?

    Thanks
  2. semrumo
    Offline

    semrumo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The Ipad is unlocked, so yes you can use it in India, but you will need a micro-sim, or cut a normal one to that size (there are lots of videos on youtube that show you how)

    Jailbreak adds cydia, its like an app store but with features that allow you to have full control over your idevice, with costume themes, some tweaks, you can sort of add flash to it with Frash.

    I have one and its jailbroken, i can say that its better this way.
  3. bachelor
    Offline

    bachelor iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ohh.. good..thanks for the useful reply!! It was really helpful.

    I've other queries too. If we jailbreak iPad can we update the firmware over internet after jailbreaking? Does it void the warranty? If we can't update after jail breaking then how to revert it to normal as it was earlier? Please Clear me..I want to be sure before purchasing..

    and are you from India? are your 3G services working fine?
    Please give me your E-mail Id??

    Thanks so much :)
  4. ArthurIhde
    Offline

    ArthurIhde iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yes i am sure you can use it in india
  5. semrumo
    Offline

    semrumo iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I live in Africa, Angola!!! And yes the 3G works fine here.

    You can always update the ipad even if its jailbreaked.

    But there is a catch, if you update to a newer firmware you will have to wait for the jailbreak of that particular IOS version.

    for example, your ipad is 3.2 jailbreaked, and you have a new update lets say 4.2, you can update to the new firmware, but you will lose your jailbreak. and in turn wait for the 4.2 jailbreak.

    so the best thing you can do is jailbreak the firmware you have now and dont update to a newer firmware, unless there is a software that enables the jailbreak on the new version.

    My advice is buy it without any worry, you can always come here and ask away before doing something you are not sure if its correct.
  6. sidp
    Offline

    sidp iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Guys need some help. I purchased a Ipad 3G for my mother in Gurgaon, and got a BSNL microsim for her. After much waiting, it was activated and now with Bsnlnet as the APN setting, she is seeing the Dolphin logo on the Ipad but there is no connectivity. Can you please help?
  7. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    You should take out your own thread instead of bumping one from last year.;)
  8. Kendo
    Offline

    Kendo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I thought that was what the search function was for.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
3g plans for ipad 3g in india
,
buying ipad in us for india
,
can i buy ipad from us and use it in india
,
do in need to do a special purchase to use an ipad in india
,
does a us ipad work in india?
,

does ipad 3g work in india

,
how ipad works in india
,
ipad 3g buy from us and taking to india
,

ipad 3g in india

,

ipad 3g in india will work

,
ipad 3g work in india
,
is ipad2 3g work in in ndia
,
is there any issue taking ipad to india from us
,
jailbreak ipad air to work in india
,
paramount thread works india
,
take ipad to india from us
,
unlocked ipad in india
,
will ipad bough in india work in usa
,
will ipad from us work in india
,
will my ipad from us work in india