Does deleting albums from iPad also delete them from my laptop?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by donnalee, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. donnalee
    Offline

    donnalee iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'd like to delete an album from my iPad but when I select the photos to delete, I get the message "delete everywhere?". Im afraid to do that because I don't want to delete those photos from my laptop...is that what would occur? I've also tried to delete the entire album but this doesn't seem possible so I checked each pic individually which is very tedious. Is there a way to select more than one pic at a time or the entire album?

    One more thing Im confused about is how to post a new thread on this app? The only way I was able to post this one is from the link on the welcome letter for joining...thanks in advance for any help!
  2. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    When you create albums on your iPad the original photos are not moved, they are just made part of an album so you can bring them up easily. So you can delete the album but not delete the original photo. Albums are just tags on photos to let you group in a meaningful way.

    If your are using photostream, then your photos can be synced between devices. It might be if you delete one of these shared photos and say delete everwyhere it will delete them all, but I doubt it really works like that. If you are concerned just back up your photostream folder. Photostream, at least for me, wont let me delete anything. All that syncing from device to device, and re- syncing if you delete something, means nothing gets deleted. It is like a photo nightmare.

    But backup your photos on the laptop and remove the album. The original should remain in the camera roll and on your laptop if you don't tell it to delete everywhere.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does deleting from camera roll also delete from photostream
,

does deleting photo stream ipad photos delete everywhere

,
does deleting photos from photo stream delete them everywhere
,
does deleting pictures from camera roll also delete them from albums
,
how to delete photo albums from ipad using laptop
,
if i delete album from ipad does it delete on laptop
,
if i delete from photo will it also delete from album
,
if i delete photos from my ipad does it delete everywhere
,
if i delete photos from photostream, willit also delete photos from my albums
,
ipad can i delete photostream pictures when i save them in albums
,
will deleting photos also delete them from photostream
,
will deleting photos from ipad delete from photostream also ?