Do you leave Splashtop running all the time?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by SweetPoison, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Is this not a good idea?
     
  2. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I have it on always. I leave my computer on all the time..that way I can always log in.

    I actually leave my iPad on splashtop all day while at work with a BT keyboard...its basically like having a MacPad.....god I hope that comes out soon!!
     
  3. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    So you take your iPad to work and access your desktop from home? Am I understanding that? I thought we could only use Splashtop at home?

    I am confused and I have the headache from hell so please don't be an ass.:D


    LOL! I am so kidding! Couldn't resist.;)
     
  4. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Yes I use splashtop all day from work.

    I have a 3Mb/sec upload rate at home and 20Mb/sec download at work...it is really fast. Like fast enough that I've been playing Tales of Monkey Island lately on my iPad on my desktop at work when I'm done!

    To use it outside of your local network you have to forward ports 6783-6785 on your router then go into Splastop and add a new connection, type in your home IP address (an easy way to get it is to log in to gmail, its at the bottom of the page....if you aren't home and need it you can leave it logged in at home and go to the check connections tab and find it in there) It will log in just like at home. If your connections are fast enough it will be like you are at home :)
     
  5. DaveSt

    DaveSt iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    626
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Man, that must be REALLY nice. I think my RoadRunner upload rate is capped at 512K, and that is for the full service not the "Lite" version.
     
  6. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    mine used to be that low...but I check every month and they FINALLY updated it ot 3Mb and its great!! I can run splashtop so fast its insane....there is 0 lag and fast enough to play games with no lag. I watch movies and web videos...it really is the closest to having a touchscreen mac as you can currently get.
     
  7. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0

    Thanks! I will have to get someone to help me with doing this. I can't wait!
     
  8. SBHOKC

    SBHOKC iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    422
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Great question and now I have Splashtop. I have also already set the port forwarding on my router. This is a great app for 2 dollars!

    Thanks to you both.....:D
     
  9. epb

    epb iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    888
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0
    Nah, you're supposed to. I leave it up all the time and my home pc on (without the monitor) so I can access it while away. I use it to fetch work files, stream video, whatever. Quite handy.
     
  10. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I wish they would add a curtain tho...like Apples screen sharing manager. So the monitor can be on.
     
  11. J.D

    J.D iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have been using Splashtop for a while also, I haven't used it while at College or anything yet though but I should be able to do it no problem as my Desktop is always on and connected to Splashtop and AirVideo.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
does home computer need to be on at all times for splashtop to work?
,
does my computer need to be on to use splashtop streamer
,
does splashtop personal have to be logged in all the time
,

does your computer have to be on to use splashtop

,

how does splashtop work

,
how to make splashtop faster
,
how to make splashtop run faster
,
is splashtop safe
,
when running splashtop on my ipad do i need to keep my computer on
,
why is splashtop so fast