Do i have an AT&T E problem or an IPad IPhone problem?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by janetn, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. janetn

    janetn iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't get help from AT&T, can anyone here help? As I leave town my iPhone goes to "off network" but my iPad says AT&T E. is there a setting to change on the phone or do I need a new service? AT&T is not helpful and wifi is not available as I travel. Do I have to replace the phone?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  2. scifan57

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    21,046
    Thanks Received:
    2,735
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +3,299 / 2
    Is your data roaming set to off?That might explain your problem.To check,go to settings-general-network-data roaming.
    Cellular carriers do charge outrageous rates go data roaming,though.
     
  3. twerppoet

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    17,215
    Thanks Received:
    2,449
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,980 / 1
    Data Roaming should not be an issue on AT&T in the U.S.

    Check with AT&T to see if you can force an update to your tower information on the iPhone. (not sure what they call it). You'll need a good connection when it is being done.
     
  4. HappyPelican

    HappyPelican iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    309
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pelican Island, NJ
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    I would call AT&T again and ask to speak to a senior or supervisor until you get an answer! Good luck!
     
  5. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    I think it's an iPhone / iPad prob. I say that because all my 3G iDevices have varying receptivity. Must have to do with the way the hardware is designed. I noticed that I'd be in the same location with iPhone 4 or 4S and iPad 1 or 2 and get different levels of connectivity, depending on where I was in the country. (I travel a lot.) I also noticed that my signal strength improved a lot when I switched to iPhone 4S from iPhone 4, even in the exact same locations, with the same AT&T 3G service at the time. (I just recently switched to a 4G Android phone.)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

at&t e

,
at&t iphone off network
,
att e network
,
att e on iphone
,
iphone at&t e
,
iphone off network
,
iphone says off network
,
off network at&t iphone
,
what is at&t e
,
why does my ipad say att e