Do i have an AT&T E problem or an IPad IPhone problem?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by janetn, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. janetn
    Offline

    janetn iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't get help from AT&T, can anyone here help? As I leave town my iPhone goes to "off network" but my iPad says AT&T E. is there a setting to change on the phone or do I need a new service? AT&T is not helpful and wifi is not available as I travel. Do I have to replace the phone?
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2012
  2. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,129
    Thanks Received:
    2,143
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 1
    Is your data roaming set to off?That might explain your problem.To check,go to settings-general-network-data roaming.
    Cellular carriers do charge outrageous rates go data roaming,though.
  3. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16,236
    Thanks Received:
    1,964
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +2,184 / 1
    Data Roaming should not be an issue on AT&T in the U.S.

    Check with AT&T to see if you can force an update to your tower information on the iPhone. (not sure what they call it). You'll need a good connection when it is being done.
  4. HappyPelican
    Offline

    HappyPelican iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    301
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pelican Island, NJ
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    I would call AT&T again and ask to speak to a senior or supervisor until you get an answer! Good luck!
  5. Kaykaykay
    Offline

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,973
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    I think it's an iPhone / iPad prob. I say that because all my 3G iDevices have varying receptivity. Must have to do with the way the hardware is designed. I noticed that I'd be in the same location with iPhone 4 or 4S and iPad 1 or 2 and get different levels of connectivity, depending on where I was in the country. (I travel a lot.) I also noticed that my signal strength improved a lot when I switched to iPhone 4S from iPhone 4, even in the exact same locations, with the same AT&T 3G service at the time. (I just recently switched to a 4G Android phone.)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

at&t e

,
at&t e?
,
at&t iphone off network
,
at&t phone says off network
,
att e network
,
att e on iphone
,
att off network iphone
,
ipad off network e
,
ipad says at&t e
,
iphone at&t e
,
iphone off network
,
iphone says off network
,
off network at&t iphone
,
phone says off network
,
what is at&t e
,
what is the att e network
,
why does my att iphone say off network
,
why does my ipad say att e
,
why does my iphone say off network
,
why does my phone go from at&t to off network