Deleting Apps

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Gary_P, Dec 21, 2010.

  1. Gary_P
    Offline

    Gary_P iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Before I sync again I wanted to make sure I do it right.

    I sync'd my ipad to my itunes which my kids had also been using on their ipod touches. When I did the first sync I wound up with 200 apps on my ipad which were of no interest to me at all. I have now deleted everything useless from the ipad.

    When I open my itunes, all of the apps are still there. This is normal.

    Do I need to go through again and delete them from itunes before I sync or will itunes recongnise that they were deleted from the ipad and delete them from itunes as well?

    I DO NOT want to sync and find the 200 apps back on the ipad.

    Thanks
  2. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    The advantages of one account are that you can share apps, music, and movies, and at the same time have different things on each iPad. But, first, click on FILE on the top left of the screen, and click Preferences. Select the DEVICES tab and check the box before "Prevent iPod, iPhones, and iPads from syncing automatically." Also, on the APPS tab for your iPhone make sure the box before "Automatically sync new apps." is not checked unless you both want to have all the same apps on your iPhones.Under the MUSIC tab check box before "Sync Music", and then check the box before "Selected playlists, artists, albums, and genres.". Then check the Artist or songs you want to put on your iPhone. That way each of you can have the music you each like on your iPhones. You can also do a similar thing with apps and movies.

    By selectively syncing your apps for each device you won't have that problem.
  3. Gary_P
    Offline

    Gary_P iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks. I know better now when setting up with multiple users but I am wondering about my next sync. How do I "not" get all those apps to come back on the ipad but get the ones on my ipad into itunes?
  4. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    When your device is plugged into iTunes go the APPS tab and select only the apps you want on your iPad, be sure they are iPad compatible apps or iTunes won't sync them. When you sync, the apps that you did NOT check, will be deleted from your iPad, not iTunes. If there are apps on the iPad that have not been synced to iTunes before, they will be transfered to iTunes, normally. If they are not transfered, go to the FILES tab in iTunes and click on "Transfer Purchases from iPad", now they will be on the iPad and iTunes. If set it up as outlined above, you should be OK. Now when a different iDevice is attached to itunes you can set it up differently and it will stay that way. Your kids can have it there way, and you can have it your way.
Similar Threads
  1. Gunneruseipad2
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,072
  2. angie95
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,248
  3. stanifa2
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    559
  4. claw59
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    831
  5. johnsilver
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,068
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

deleted app comes back to ipad during sync

,

i delete an app on my ipad but it comes back when i sync