1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Cydia not showing installed packages

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Zergslayer69, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    So, I manually installed a deb file by tossing it into the cydia/autoinstall folder. However if you hold your finger down on it, theres no X to delete the app. Everytime I go into cydia, it errors on me and says "the package needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it".

    The weird thing is, all my installed packages from cydia work, but none show up in the installed list. Rebooted, no go, still missing.

    Any ideas on how I can manually remove an installed deb file preferrably through ifile?
  2. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    I'd try using iFunBox instead to uninstall so that you get all the locally cached fragments as well. Otherwise, you can remove it using iFile by heading to private/var/stash/applications.xxxx where xxxx represents a unique string for your device
  3. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks for the pointer although it didn't resolve my issue. Since we're on 6.1.3 and you can't jailbreak that, how can I reset everything on my ipad without having to use itunes to restore?
  4. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    I'd give ILEX RAT a try in that case, which will remove all Cydia packages with a single Terminal command. That'll basically be a last resort. But try putting your device into Safe Mode first (assuming you have MobileSubstrate and Safe Mode Substrate installed. One package it comes with is SBSettings), and see if you can view your packages there before using ILEX RAT
  5. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Once again thanks for the response. However the odd thing with my cydia is that I can see my sources, but I can't see anything under my searches, installed, or in changes. So I can't install any of the stuff you mentioned that I don't already have due to the issue with whatever I installed.

    So that brings me back to square 1 of figuring out how to wipe my ipad without updating to 6.1.3. Can I do it within the ipad with the erase all data? I tried with an iphone once and it didn't quite work out.
  6. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    Do you have OpenSSH installed on your device?
  7. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I do not sadly, been doing all my internal transferring via ifunbox.
  8. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    Use you can iFunBox then. I'd give reinstalling Cydia via debian package a try first to see if that fixes the issue. If not, then you'll have to install ILEX RAT via debian package.

    Cydia 1.1.8.deb download

    ILEX RAT 1.100-107.deb download

    OpenSSH .deb download

    Then open up iFunBox with your device connected, open up the tree on the left hand side after clicking on the Classic tab on the top, and look for Cydia Auto Install. First drag the Cydia deb in there alone, reboot your device and see if that fixes the issue. Otherwise, do the same for the ILEX RAT deb as well as the OpenSSH deb (you can drop both in together) and again reboot.

    Once ILEX RAT and OpenSSH are dropped in, and you've rebooted, SSH should automatically be turned on. If the next step doesn't work, reboot again and it'll be on.

    Get your Wifi Data Address. If you have SBSettings, it's the Wi-Fi IP Address, which is normally 192.168.1.X. Otherwise, open up Settings > Wifi > the little blue arrow next to the connected Wifi network, and look for the first line, which is IP Address. Now download PuTTy, run it. For IP Address, enter the one that shows on your device. Then for the little bubbles under it, make sure SSH is filled in (it should be by default). Then connect. A pop-up should come up if it's your first time using PuTTy, say Yes. Then for login as, type in 'root', then press enter. For password, type in 'alpine' then press enter. You're now connected. Type in 'rat' and enter. Type in "1", enter. Type in "N", enter. Type in "Y", enter. Type in "N", enter, then reboot or do a reset
  9. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I tried installing the deb files via the autoinstall, but something is getting in the way of any kind of installation. I took a screenshot of the error message trying to install the original file (gameplayer). Maybe the error messages will make sense to you. But I have a feeling unless I edit some sort of list that cydia refers to, I'm stuck with having to reset the device.

    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
  10. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    There are a few dependencies required that aren't installed on your device. I'd advise that you install it directly through Cydia instead to make sure that the dependencies are installed as well, as most packages downloaded manually do not include dependencies unless you extract them using utilities like Cyder.
  11. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yea, unfortunately that takes me back to my original problem, I can't see any of my installed packages, can't see anything under the search, and can't see anything in the changes. It's just all blank.
  12. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    Did you reinstall Cydia?
  13. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I tried, both downloading the cydia deb in safari and running it in ifile with installer. I also tried installing cydia via ifunbox and the restart method. Didn't do anything. Here's another screencap of when I tried installing it via ifile.

    ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
  14. willerz2
    Offline

    willerz2 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +226 / 0
    Then you'll have to use the MobileeTerminal method.
  15. Zergslayer69
    Offline

    Zergslayer69 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yea all the deb files you provided have the same problem, cydia just refuses to install them either through auto install or the ifile method. So a more drastic approach will be necessary.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cydia can't see installed packages
,

cydia installed packages not showing

,
cydia installed packages not showing up
,

cydia no installed packages

,

cydia not showing installed packages

,

cydia not showing packages

,
cydia package error
,
cydia package needs to be reinstalled
,
cydia package needs to be reinstalled but i can't find an archive for it
,

cydia packages not showing

,

cydia packages not showing up

,

cydia the package needs to be reinstalled

,

cydia the package needs to be reinstalled but i can't find an archive for it

,
i cant find my installed cydia package
,
i cant see any installed packages on cydia fix
,
installed cydia packages not showing
,
installed packages are not showing in cydia
,
packages not showing in cydia
,

the package cydia needs to be reinstalled but i can find an archive for it

,
the package needs to be reinstalled but i can't find an archive for it cydia