Cydia Mobile Subtrate Update

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by ssemmel, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. RudyL90

    RudyL90
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Thanks Received:
    9
    The last tweak I installed after the update, thus before my iPad 2 had this problem, was xBackup.
    Did you guys install a tweak before you updated mobilesubstrate?
     
  2. ssemmel

    ssemmel
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I hadn't updated or installed any apps or teaks for a few weeks before. I use pkgbackup.
     
  3. seamus517

    seamus517
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I had the issue described here on my new iPad 2, and thought it was because of a Data Counter cydia app I installed. Since my iPad was new, I had no SHSH blobs, and because I didn't have openSSH, SBSettings, or any other backdoors (a mistake I won't make again), my only other choice was to restore, losing my JB. At least i had iOS 5 to upgrade to. I would have been salty if my only choice was 4.3.5!

    I ran into an issue when I was restoring and wanted to share it here for anyone else having the same problem.

    I got iTunes to recognize that it was an iPad in recovery mode, clicked on restore & upgrade, but during the "verification" kept getting an unnumbered error saying "Free ipad software update server could not be contacted or is temporarily unavailable" and was banging my head into the wall trying to figure out what was going on. I tried lots of different things, unDFUing and reDFUing, rebooting, system restore to an earlier point, disabling my firewall (since it seemed the problem occurred when trying to connect to the Apple server) and eventually found the issue in my HOSTS file. The last line read

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    so it was trying to conect to the Cydia Apple-spoofing servers when I needed it to connect to the real Apple servers.

    So I put a # in front of that line (I imagine deleting it would have worked too) , and after that it worked like a charm.

    Hope this can help somebody stuck in the same position.
     
  4. ssemmel

    ssemmel
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Where is this file? I tried so many times and kept getting errors. I I'm on 5 and would live to put back 4.3 3.
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,113
    Thanks Received:
    652
  6. seamus517

    seamus517
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    See f4780y's link for information on the hosts file.

    Also, the way I understand it, you can't go back from 5 to 4.x if you've got an iPad 2 3G (WiFi only is ok), since upgrading to 5 changes the baseband, and you can't get that back to 4.x, even if you have the SHSH blobs.

     
  7. ssemmel

    ssemmel
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok I found the below in this directory. C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts.

    74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com

    But when I open up the file all lines have the # in front of them. This file says

    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.


    Where is the actual file that I need to fix?
     
  8. seamus517

    seamus517
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What are you trying to do? More importantly, what is your computer NOT doing?


     
  9. seamus517

    seamus517
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do ALL of them have # in front of them? Including the 74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com line?

     
  10. ssemmel

    ssemmel
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Weird they all do.
     

Share This Page


Search tags for this page
cydia not updating
,
email and safari crash after cydia substrate update
,
how to load mobile substrate if i cant get into cydia
,

mobile subtrate

,
uninstall mobile substrate without wifi