Connectivity issues

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by TheMitz, May 6, 2010.

  1. TheMitz

    TheMitz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Last two days my iPad has been Suh-LOOOOO to connect, if at all. Both at home and at work. This morning I tried to connect to about 6 sites and never made it. I'm talking Google, MSN, YouTube, my firm's portal. Really frustrating! I get "Safari can't open because server has stopped responding." Who's server? I have 3G 16G but am only using Wi-Fi at the moment. At home I ended up standing right next to the router and things still wouldn't connect even though my WiFi icon showed max bars. Also, when I finally do get into a site, like Amazon, and move from one page to another, it's very slow; seems to take forever for pages even to re-load. I even made sure I only had 2 pages open in the browser thinking maybe my memory was struggling. I also turned off the location finder. What am I missing? I wanted to use the iPad for a lot of things but this halt in functionality is putting a serious crimp in my plans!
     
  2. NumbLock

    NumbLock iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Reboot? Check that your iPad has a fixed IP address in your router?

    There is an Apple help site, hopefully someone will provide the link.
     
  3. NumbLock

    NumbLock iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
  4. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Edlex

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I would try clearing all history, cache, cookies and Turing it off completely. Wait a few minutes and turn it back on. Restart your router as well and see if they play nice then. If not it's genius time.
     
  6. TheMitz

    TheMitz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I connect to the network (router) just fine. Mine at home and wireless network at work. It's trying to connect to a site - like Google, or msn.com, it loads and loads and loads and then tells me the server is not responding - all the while Settings tells me I'm connected to Wifi.
     
  7. TheMitz

    TheMitz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    And I have rebooted - makes no diff.
     
  8. Sincere11105

    Sincere11105 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Restore? Take to the genius bar
     
  9. DMad

    DMad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    TheMitz - Were you ever able to get this corrected? I'm having the exact same problems and would love to know if you've got a solution yet.
     
  10. NumbLock

    NumbLock iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    As it says in that link, I fixed my problems by:

    1) Switching to WPA encryption
    2) Using a fixed IP address
    3) Turning up the brightness and turning off "Auto"
     
  11. DMad

    DMad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In my router settings I see the option to change to WPA encryption, but it's asking for a passphrase and I'm not sure what that means. Plus, I'm afraid of creating a wireless problem for the other three computers in the house that use this router.

    Also, not sure how you use a fixed IP address, but the one assigned to my iPad doesn't ever seem to change, even after I renew the lease.

    Brightness is up and "Auto" is off, that didn't help on its own.

    Any other ideas?
     
  12. NumbLock

    NumbLock iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Try the WPA encryption. You'll have to put in a passcode, yes, and edit all the computers on the network.

    Sorry, but until Apple fixes this problem, we're all in the same boat together.
     
  13. Al Rogers

    Al Rogers iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    By reading some complaints on the apple website many owners are having Wi-Fi problems,my Ipad stopped connecting today,cannot use the apps store,mail,or my browser. If this is how the gadget is going to act it will be sent back for a refund by mid week,as I have only had it 6 days. My first and last apple,should have bought a mini notebook.The Wi-Fi on my wifes laptop is working fine,did I mention is was a Dell.
    Disappointed,hacked off and p..... off you name it I have it.

    Al.
     
  14. TheMitz

    TheMitz iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi DMad - Sorry but my solution was to return it. I took it to the genius bar (the genius was unaware of any connectivity issues). I followed all the instructions I could find, including everything you did. It worked so inconsistently and connected so sporadically on a variety of networks that I could not in any way rationalize spending that kind of money on technology that was so random. I know lots of people love theirs and have had no problem. Maybe they got a bad batch and I got a lemon. Plus, I'm out the money for a MobileMe sub, camera connector, 2 covers and a stylus. I really, really wanted it to function but if it can't or won't connect - it's useless to me. I will watch the improvements carefully and maybe after the next one or two generations I will try it again.
     
  15. DMad

    DMad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pueblo, CO
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oh, crap - I don't want to have to return it, I just want it to work!

    I need to take it to a wifi outside of my house and see what happens, the thought is my home router is so old it doesn't support the newer technology, like an iPad. I've got a new one being shipped, but if this is going to be an ongoing issue from wifi to wifi, the price is simply not worth it.

    Unfortunate, because outside of older-version iPods and my current iPod classic (which I love), this is my first real foray into Apple products and so far it's been a bit of a struggle. Which has been surprising given how much I've heard about Apples user friendlieness and easy usability.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
i pad safari could not open my server has stopped but my laptop has no problem s
,
ipad not responding to server
,
ipad not responding to wifi
,
ipad safari server stopped responding
,
ipad says server not responding
,

ipad server not responding

,
safari could not open page because the server stopped responding
,
safari could not open the page because the server stopped responding
,
server not responding on ipad
,
what to do if safari could not open the page because the server stopped respondi