Confused on html5

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by ChIpad, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. ChIpad

    ChIpad iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok I went to fox.com because I was wondering if the videos would play. I catch up on a few shows online, it says my player is not html5 compatible? I am being told that it is, so what is it yes or no lol
     
  2. robertlc

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0

    I tested that out by trying to watch a show on fox.com and this is th error message I got:

    We're sorry.
    This player is not enabled for HTML5 delivery.

    Funny, because the iPad is supposed to work with html5. It certainly does with Apple's html5 showcase website.

    Wonder what the problem is, improper html5 coding on Fox's part or what?
     
  3. robertlc

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    I clicked on the "playback problems?" link on Fox's video page and submitted the problem. Will see what they say.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  4. robertlc

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Foxnews.com uses html5 per Apple's website.

    Went there and was able to play their videos fine.
     
  5. ChIpad

    ChIpad iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thank you for the reply, they must have something that isnt working right, hope they fix it soon..
     
  6. MarkK

    MarkK iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I don't quite get it. Where is the problem?
    Fox uses a player that isn't HTML5 compatible and tells you so.
    That's all there is to it.

    As every slightly intelligent website does, it checks your OS and browser, sees that you are using an iPad which can't do flash, and then checks if it has HTML5 to offer, as it knows that that is what the iPad expects.
    Not having HTML5, it tells you so, in order to prevent you from submitting a problem that isn't one. ;-)
     
  7. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0

    This was very informative. Thank you!


    So you think there is no problem? Why do folks think that Fox does or should use HTML5 compatible?
     
  8. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    But I guess, as Mark states, Fox.com doesn't support it.

    What is HTML5, anyways?:(
     
  9. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    I think you guys are reading the message incorrectly. It is telling you that the fox player is not ready to support a html5 device like the iPad, not that your iPad doesn't support html5...
     
  10. robertlc

    robertlc iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, MS
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Ahhhh. Ok. Our mistake.
     
  11. Tinman

    Tinman iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Wait a minute... Who's on first?
     
  12. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    It's Fox News it probably worded it in such a way as to make you feel like it's Obama's fault that you can't see the video.
     
  13. ChIpad

    ChIpad iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    lol want to watch the shows on fox not the news, Thanks for the info, I was seeing it wrong, they need to hurry up and get with the times lol
     
  14. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Totally agree. That is one badly worded error message. No wonder folks are confused.
     
  15. Jayarski

    Jayarski iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Makawao Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Html5 "enabled"

    Robertlc... Did Fox ever get back to you?
    I tried to view a "House" video and got the error on my iPad, but it played without a problem on my iMac.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
fox html5
,

html5 delivery

,
html5 players are currently not enabled for this account
,

this player is not enabled for html5 delivery ipad

,
we're sorry. html5 players are currently not enabled for this account.