Confirm 3g

Discussion in 'iPad Travel Forum' started by Ludee00, May 18, 2011.

  1. Ludee00

    Ludee00 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone, I'm new :)
    My question is: is there a way to check the 3 g and make sure it works, without actually getting a plan? I want to use it when I go to Europe, so I don't want to activate it right now.
     
  2. azntrinityxq

    azntrinityxq iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Socal
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    at&t 3g is month to month there no plan. You can cancel anytime.
     
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    It depends where you live. In the UK several service providers will give you a free SIM for the iPad, which you can activate on line. To do that, you use the 3G to go to the service provider's web site (it will only allow you to go there before you've signed up) where you can enter your credit card details. But, you can at least check that the 3G is working OK.

    Tim
     
  4. Ludee00

    Ludee00 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks, that's a great idea. But I live in the states. Has anyone tried this here?
     
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    I think the problem you may face is similar to many Members who visit the US and buy an iPad there. They almost always find that the iPad has to be activated first of all in the US before it will accept a 'foreign' SIM card. The software in the iPad wants to first of all connect to AT&T. So you may have to activate the iPad's 3G in the US - then immediately cancel it (or simply purchase the smallest package they offer). Then you'll have no problems using other SIM cards once you're overseas. If you search the Forum you'll see dozens of Members who have bought iPads in the US and who have done this and a few unfortunate members who did not and now find they cannot use their iPads back in their home country because the iPad *first of all* wants to connect to AT&T.

    Tim
     
  6. HughB

    HughB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canmore, AB. Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    If I get this right. I need to activate a plan here (Canada) before I travel? The iPad is not locked like my iPhone? IE I can swap out Sim card for whatever country I'm in.
    I wonder if I can swap out and active sim card from Rogers for say a Vodafone in Europe without grief?
    Hugh
     
  7. HughB

    HughB iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canmore, AB. Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    iPad locked or unlocked

    Perhaps it pays to wait for Rogers CS to answer the phone..... iPads are not locked but iPhones are. Therefore, I can buy a sim card in whichever country I'm travelling in (pay the fee) and I'll have service.
    Hugh
     
  8. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    In the US and Canada iPads are not locked and you can swap out your Roger's SIM card for any card in the country that you're visiting.

    Tim
     

Share This Page