Command to list all running apps and processes?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by jsherk, May 2, 2011.

  1. jsherk

    jsherk
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    From the command line in linux you can type either top or ps and get a list of running processes.

    Is there an equivalent for iPad iOS command line?

    Thanks
     
  2. richsadams

    richsadams
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,500
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Double click the home button. All of the active apps are displayed. Hold down any one of them, they will start to jiggle and a circled minus sign will appear in the upper LH corner. Touch the minus sign to close the app. More here.

    If you download iStat for the iPad it will give you a detailed look at all of the processes, etc.

    Otherwise there are no "command lines" in iOS. Or did I miss your meaning completely?
     
  3. tzimisce

    tzimisce
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I use XSysInfo, which displays processes, and also has two levels of memory cleaning to free up unused RAM.
     
  4. Hasty

    Hasty
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Plus1 for XsysInfo.
    Great for a quick RAM clean.
     
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Indeed and as MountainbikerMark has found out, can you open XSysInfo and than shake the iPad to clear the RAM. What a suitable gesture for RAM clearing.
     
  6. jsherk

    jsherk
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yes there is a command line in iPad. Maybe I mean to say shell (command line is DOS term). I use PuTTY and connect remotely from my PC.

    I am looking to find running processes from the shell, so I can use the KILL command to shut them down.
     
  7. jsherk

    jsherk
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, I figured out that you can install TOP from Cydia, and then the top command will run from the shell and list all running processes.

    Thanks to A3gOwner here:
    How to show running apps and processes?
     
  8. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Do you need a specific repo to install top?

    A google search for "top Cydia app" wasn't exactly useful in finding that app and Cydia doesn't list it either.
     
  9. jsherk

    jsherk
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I opened Cydia from my iPad, tapped SEARCH and then typed "top" and hit enter and it was the first one listed!

    I don't know specifically what repo it is associated with, but if the above doesn't work, post back and I will get a list of the repos I have listed on my iPad for you.
     
  10. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Top isn't listed anywhere on my Cydia with the following repos:
    Apt.media-phone.ch
    BigBoss
    ModMyi.com
    repo666.ultrasn0w.com
    Telesporeo Tangelo
    ZodTTD&MacCiti

    Do you have any additional repos?
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
ios running process list
,
ipad command line
,
ipad command line running processes
,

ipad process list

,
ipad processes
,
ipad processes list
,
ipad processes running
,
ipad ps process
,

ipad running processes

,
show ios processes