Command to list all running apps and processes?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by jsherk, May 2, 2011.

  1. jsherk

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    From the command line in linux you can type either top or ps and get a list of running processes.

    Is there an equivalent for iPad iOS command line?

    Thanks
     
  2. richsadams

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,500
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Double click the home button. All of the active apps are displayed. Hold down any one of them, they will start to jiggle and a circled minus sign will appear in the upper LH corner. Touch the minus sign to close the app. More here.

    If you download iStat for the iPad it will give you a detailed look at all of the processes, etc.

    Otherwise there are no "command lines" in iOS. Or did I miss your meaning completely?
     
  3. tzimisce

    tzimisce iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,078
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I use XSysInfo, which displays processes, and also has two levels of memory cleaning to free up unused RAM.
     
  4. Hasty

    Hasty iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Location
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Plus1 for XsysInfo.
    Great for a quick RAM clean.
     
  5. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Indeed and as MountainbikerMark has found out, can you open XSysInfo and than shake the iPad to clear the RAM. What a suitable gesture for RAM clearing.
     
  6. jsherk

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Yes there is a command line in iPad. Maybe I mean to say shell (command line is DOS term). I use PuTTY and connect remotely from my PC.

    I am looking to find running processes from the shell, so I can use the KILL command to shut them down.
     
  7. jsherk

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok, I figured out that you can install TOP from Cydia, and then the top command will run from the shell and list all running processes.

    Thanks to A3gOwner here:
    How to show running apps and processes?
     
  8. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Do you need a specific repo to install top?

    A google search for "top Cydia app" wasn't exactly useful in finding that app and Cydia doesn't list it either.
     
  9. jsherk

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I opened Cydia from my iPad, tapped SEARCH and then typed "top" and hit enter and it was the first one listed!

    I don't know specifically what repo it is associated with, but if the above doesn't work, post back and I will get a list of the repos I have listed on my iPad for you.
     
  10. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Top isn't listed anywhere on my Cydia with the following repos:
    Apt.media-phone.ch
    BigBoss
    ModMyi.com
    repo666.ultrasn0w.com
    Telesporeo Tangelo
    ZodTTD&MacCiti

    Do you have any additional repos?
     
  11. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Make sure you set your user type to "developer" in Cydia. You don't see any of the advanced packages such as TOP if you are just a plain old "user". Enable "developer" and you will see TOP, it is in Saurik's repo.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  12. jsherk

    jsherk iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ahh... never thought of that! I have mine set to developer already. My repos are:
    BigBoss
    ModMyi.com
    moyashi repository
    repo666.ultrasn0w.com
    Telesphoreo Tangelo
    ZodTTD & MacCiti
     
  13. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    Thank you f4780y.

    Setting Cydia to developer mode did the trick.
     
  14. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    The mans' a genius, I'm tellin ya.;)
     
  15. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    My own modesty was my downfall. I should have never classified myself as a mere user :D

    But yes, it works. Top is now the first item to come up on searches.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad command line

,

ipad process list

,

ipad running processes

,
list ipad processes
,
top command ios