Carrier AT&T 10.0??

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by gray_mouse, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My iPad is without SIM, it says carrier is AT&T 10.0 in settings. Does that mean it has a subsidy lock??
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    What other carriers do you have in your country - you don't say where you're from? The iPad needs to be initialised with an AT&T SIM - perhaps a pay-as-you-go one - and then it can be used with another carrier's SIM

    Tim
    Scotland
  3. gray_mouse
    Offline

    gray_mouse iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sochi, Russia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    In russia. There is no AT&T here. What will happen if I stick a sim from a different carrier?
  4. Michelle Scotland
    Offline

    Michelle Scotland iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm in Scotland and looking to buy an iPad 2 morrow in USA will the 3 g work if I put my uk sim into it?

    Clueless!!!! Lol
  5. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Hi - Michelle - I replied in the other thread you posted - hope that information helps you.

    Tim
    Scotland - too!
  6. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Did you purchase the iPad in the US? If you did, you really should have initialised it first there with an AT&T SIM card - you could have bought a cheap pay-as-you-go card and just gone through the initialisation procedure. Then, when you got back home, you'd have been able to insert a local SIM. I don't think - going by other members' experiences - that you'll be able to initialise the 3G service in your country by putting in a local SIM because the software in the iPad wants to connect to AT&T first of all. Once you've initialised it on AT&T, then it will accept another SIM. If you did purchase it in the US, do you plan to return there sometime soon? That really might be the only solution.

    If you bought it locally - I'm at a loss for a solution. I'm sure that Apple wouldn't have sold one of these in your country so I can only suggest you contact the person or retail outlet that sold it to you.

    It's a difficult problem and we've had several people posting messages on the Forum who have purchased iPads in the US and have not initialised them there and then have found it impossible to get them to work back in their own country. The only solution we've found so far is basically that they have to be initialised in the US on an AT&T network

    Tim
    Scotland
  7. Michelle Scotland
    Offline

    Michelle Scotland iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Tim iv not purchased it yet but wud like the 3 g version as iv got the other iPad at the moment, so il see if I can get a pay as u go sim in the states? I'm only ther a day so il need to get a move on!
  8. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Yes - get a PAYG card while you're there and either set it up yourself or get the store to help. Make sure you get the AT&T version and keep all the invoices handy; you'll need them at Customs in the UK and in case you need to have the iPad serviced at your local Apple Store in the UK.

    As I'm sure you're aware, the iPad power adaptor/charger is universal; it will work in any country - but you'll need to get a UK adaptor. It's a standard, so-called IEC socket on the charger so getting a plug and cable to connect to it will be simple - Maplin is good for these. To get the special Apple adaptor that allows the charger to be connected directly to a wall socket without a cable - convenient when travelling - you'll probably need to go to the Apple Store and purchase one there. They sell 'International Travel Kits' that contain plugs that will fit any electrical outlet in the world.

    I hope you enjoy your trip

    Tim

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
10.0 carrier
,
apple carrier 10.0
,

at&t 10.0

,
at&t 10.0 carrier
,
at&t carrier 10.0
,
att 10.0
,
can i conect at&t idap to anouther carries
,

carrier 10.0

,
carrier 10.0 iphone
,
carrier 10.0 iphone 4
,
carrier 10.0 mean
,
carrier 10.0 ñ‡ñ‚ð¾ ññ‚ð¾
,
carrier 10.0 ne demek
,
carrier at&t 10.0
,
ipad+carrier 10.0
,
iphone 4 shows carrier 10.0
,
iphone carrier 10.0
,
iphone carrier 15.0 what it means?
,
what does carrier mean on ipads
,
what is meant by ipad carrier