1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Capture image?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by frenchman96, Aug 21, 2012.

  1. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    When on a website, I often want to capture an image, and on pc, I would normally do a r/c, save image.

    Can I do that any way on iPad, same question re doing a print screen.
  2. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,160
    Thanks Received:
    711
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +778 / 0
    To capture an image from a website, long press the image then select Save Image. It will be saved to your camera roll.

    To capture the full screen, press home and on/off buttons together.

    Sent from my iPhone using iPF
  3. dhewson777
    Offline

    dhewson777 iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,355
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0
    Yes, hold the picture until the options come up, click Save Image and it goes to your Camera Roll. This is assuming Safari as your browser.

    Beaten by that much! :)
  4. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Kevin

    Is the home button, the house icon near bookmarks? If so, it's not there when I am looking at an image on web, and the power button I assum is one that takes you back to home screen
  5. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok, I know now the home button is the one that closes screen you are watching, and takes you back to homescreen, I also know the
    On/off button is the one at top/back of iPad, but if you press both to capture page, surely it turns iPad off?
  6. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Got it!! Just a matter of judging when to release which button, but managed it
  7. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,688 / 0
    Nope, not if you press them at the same time. it's a very handy thing Apple built in, the screenshot, and it works a treat. It may take a bit of practice to get the hang of pressing them simultaneously, but you'll soon see how neat it is. You also get a cool screen flash and a shutter sound so that you know it's done. Then you can access it in your Photo app....

    Marilyn
  8. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I agree, a ice touch from Apple, I was missing the P/s I use a lot on laptop.

    Cannot get to grips with saving an address when on the web, URL I mean, If I press for copy option, if anything, it only copies the letter I press on?
  9. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,688 / 0
    The best thing to do for copying URL addresses in the address bar - is to press and hold until you get the pop-up. Then, press 'Select All" ... THEN press "Copy" (when offered). This ensures you get all of the address in. It's also the easiest way (IMO), especially if you have those ridiculously long URLs. :)

    Marilyn
  10. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Mickey
    Whilst reading your reply, I tried to copy the forum URL to no avail.
    First, I c/o the last right hand letter, nothing happened, then I c/o space AFTER the last letter, neither choice gave me a pop up?
  11. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Mickey

    I think I have it, it' just worked, but I need to practice as options don't appear every time, when I do it anyway.
  12. frenchman96
    Offline

    frenchman96 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tried again, nothing happens

    1- where in the address bar do I press, I left my finger on one of the words to no avail.
    2- I don't get the option for "select all"
  13. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,315
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,688 / 0
    Take a look at this picture tutorial and see if it helps:

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1346092166.027802.jpg

    If yes, yay. If not, let me know and I'll take another try at it.

    Marilyn

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i save pictures i receive from facetime