Can't post in forums on the iPad??

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by foodie123, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. foodie123

    foodie123 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can post on this forum, but I am also on the nest.com and while I can post the title, I can't post in the message box.... But on this forum, I can.... Anyone have a clue as to why not?
     
  2. iPadster

    iPadster iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the same problem on other forums as well.
     
  3. iPadCharlie

    iPadCharlie iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4,231
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    If you are using the Safari browser, sometimes it acts that way on some forums... sometimes. There is a browser out there called Atomic that allows you to set it so that web sites thinks your browser is Safari, Safari for iPad, Safari Mobile, Firefox, or IE Explorer6, 7 or 8. The app isn't free -- it costs 99¢!
     
  4. ibgeorgeb

    ibgeorgeb iPF Novice

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can post to his forum using Safari. The iCabmobile browser don't work. I don't know why.
     
  5. Jake18oly

    Jake18oly iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lehi UT
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I don't have any problems posting to this forum. I have my ipad set to auto login otherwise it is a bit of a pain putting in my credentials every time I come to this site.
     
  6. Bluesjam

    Bluesjam iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Wow! I never would have thought that posting to a forum could be problem. I'm on about seven forums and I don't have any problems at all.
     
  7. Zenitsu

    Zenitsu iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm using icabmobile I just set it to safari iPad in the settings
     
  8. The Alternative

    The Alternative iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Safari works fine for me. However, when I use Atomic Browser the same thing happens. I like Atomic but I had to switch back to Safari for most of my browsing because of this glitch.
     
  9. George Knighton

    George Knighton iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Culpeper
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    For whatever it is worth, you should have no problems at all posting to any forums that use vBulletin software.

    There is absolutely nothing in vBulletin that would prevent your posting, and the company that owns vBulletin tested to make sure that you could easily post with the iPad and iPhone.

    Most of the employees of the company that owns vBulletin are doing their casual posting with an iPhone or iPad.

    If you cannot do something here that you want to do, then the site's owners need to do a little research into why.
     
  10. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,753
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +600 / 1
    I have no problems with posting in text boxes in this forum and also iphone4 forums.net where I am also a moderator using safari.
    I do have issues with other browsers which when posting the text box is greyed out. The title is ok. I have not changed the preferences to support safari but I will look into it as it's a strange one

    Col.Bris
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2010
  11. Joe iPad

    Joe iPad iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I regularly post in 4 different forums with my iPad using Safari with no problems...
     
  12. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,753
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +600 / 1
    Browers that work and do not work when posting

    Ok I have done some research and yes I know I am crazy but I have 8 browsers which is almost every one available. You may ask why and it's a good question. I provide support not only here and iphone4 forums but also user groups and my own client base.
    Note in each case I signed in to the forum

    So here is the hot list of browsers that allow you to edit and post in this and other forums.
    1) Safari. - no problems
    2) Perfect browser - change preferences to safari desktop rendering
    3) Atomic web - change preferences to safari iPad
    4) iCab - change preferences to safari support

    This list is browsers that do not allow you to post into text boxes in not only this forum but others as well. Text boxes are grayed out

    1) Super web. No option to change to safari in pref
    2) Browser duo - no option to change to safari in pref
    3) Readdle docs - no option to change to safari in pref
    4) ibrowser - no option to change to safari in pref

    I have no answers to why this is the case and yes I have reported it to the developers of each app that has problems. Maybe someone in the forum knows why. I hope this information is useful I look forward to comments and any updates that may correct the issue So that we can keep you informed.

    Col.Bris
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2010
  13. MikesTooLz

    MikesTooLz Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,361
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0
    im checking nest.com and i just get a construction page.
     
  14. foodie123

    foodie123 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's actually thenest.com....
     
  15. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,753
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +600 / 1
    Please read my post if you use safari contact the admin of
    The forum you are trying to post as there is nothing we can do.
    Col
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can't post in forums from ipad

,

can't reply on yahoo message boards

,
can't view yahoo messageboard on ipad
,
cant post on forums
,
how come ipad cant post pictures
,
i can't post in the group from my ipad
,
ipad can't post forms
,
ipad cannot post message on forum
,
yahoo message boards ipad problem