What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Can't get my ipad2 to charge on the computer.

lonlon

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hi,
Got my IPad 2 as a gift and I love it. I'm a speech therapist and I usenit everyday for work bit I can't get it to charge on the computer. I've tries my PC and two laptops and the not charging sign always comes up. Anybody having the same issue or have any ideas?

seapep

iPF Noob
Reaction score
lonlon said:
Hi,
Got my IPad 2 as a gift and I love it. I'm a speech therapist and I usenit everyday for work bit I can't get it to charge on the computer. I've tries my PC and two laptops and the not charging sign always comes up. Anybody having the same issue or have any ideas?

I believe that the issue is that the USB ports on the computer do not provide the necessary power to charge the iPad. That is what i have read anyway. Th experts on this forum can clarify or correct me if I am wrong

David79

iPF Noob
Reaction score
It will charge even though it says it isnt, but it is a very very slow charge, it will charge normal on a mac, also there is an app for use on pc's to allow it to push out enough power, but some people have issues with it.

Sent from my iPad using iPF

GoPackGo

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Yep, my iPad won't charge on my 3 and a half year old Toshiba laptop either. In fact I get major battery drain when it's hooked up. I only plug it in to it for very brief periods when I need to sync something. Thank God for the wall charger!

Tim SPRACKLEN

iPF Noob
Reaction score
The normal USB port on your computer is limited to 300 mA, whereas the iPad dedicated charger is a 10 W 2A charger - and provides about 7 times the current of a USB port.

Tim

OP
L

lonlon