Cannot connect Ipad 2 to home network if security is on my router.

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Keith66, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a Zyxcel Router on a home network to which is connected a Netbook and an old laptop
    The router is a ZyXEL Pretige 600 Series Model Number P- 660NW-T1
    I had password security on the router.
    The only way I can connect my Ipad 2 to the home network is if I take the security off the router.
    Had anyone else had this problem and can anyone recommend what steps I can take to remedy the problem?
  2. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    Not all routers are absolutely iOS friendly.

    Personally, i'd recommend buying a new, more commonly used, tech-friendly router. They really are cheap these days and offer zero headaches
    • Like Like x 1
  3. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    What do you mean by password security on the router? Routers typically have login passwords and passwords associated either wireless protection. I don't think you need more than that and iPad only needs the wifi password. I can't image your router is any different and if it is, I'd dump it for another as sjleworthy suggested. But I would first suggest you taking a better look at your current router.
  4. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you Steve.
    The router was sold to me and installed by and set up by a local computer firm who sold me a laptop at the same time some years ago.
    Somebody commented recently that it wasn't the usual type of router for home use.
    I have no difficulty connecting my Ipad to our daughter 's router but her Ipad also does not connect to my network if I have security enabled.
    Can you recommend a router to me please as I am quite willing to go down the road of acquiring a new router as the existing router must be 4 or 5 years old and I just need something very user friendly.
    Hi AQ_OC - With regard to my reference to password in my question I don't have a lot of knowledge about technology.
    The person who set it up enabled security on the router which I know how to disable.When security is enabled and I put the wifi password in when prompted by the Ipad I can't connect.
    He left me with a password to the Router and I know enough to go into the router and alter the security settings.
  5. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    Linksys is a most popular brand
  6. LannyC
    Offline

    LannyC iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,130
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis, USA
    Ratings:
    +420 / 0
    Have you ever gotten any computer other than the two mentioned to connect? There is a feature that refuses a connection to any device not specifically listed as allowed, and your consultant may have made the entries for your two laptops. It may be as simple as adding a new listing for your iPad. With my router, it's easiest to disable that exclusion feature so the unit sees the iPad, then choose the iPad as an approved device, then re-enable security.

    Still, a new router will have the latest protocols and probably be twice as fast. I recently replaced my old router for that reason. It's a Netgear, and it also makes our old non-wifi printers think they're AirPrint-capable, as long as the computers they're connected to are awake. 5 years is a decent run for a router anyway--nothing lasts forever, so I too recommend spending $50 on a new one.

    milliHelen: amount of beauty required to launch one ship.
  7. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,411
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    My dad recent bought a belkin router that I set up for him. One like this

    Amazon.com: Belkin N600 Wireless Dual-Band N+ Router (Latest Generation): Electronics

    What I like about this one is that it comes with preset security already set up. There is a printed card on the bottom of the unit with the routers SSID and the wifi password (these are unique for each separate router). This will get you set up quickly and if you want to, you can go in and change both the SsID and the wifi passcode, if and when you want to. A lot of routers are sold with both of these not set or set to a default SSID and no passcode, thus anyone can login and take over your router and wifi! Most of the SSIDs and default login are all over the Internet.
  8. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the recommends to the various brands.
    I will take a look at each one.

    With regard to what is connected to my Network there are 3 devices as well as the Ipad.
    The computer man who sold me the Zxycel sold me an HP laptop (Vista ) and at that time I had an old HP laptop (XP) he set up the 2 laptops to connect to the wireless network - I kept the old XP laptop for emergency use.I didn'thave wifi before that.
    I bought a Netbook a couple of years ago and installed it myself and connected it to the network.
    The Vista laptop is still here but the monitor failed but it is still here and technically is still connected to the Network.
  9. HKey_Current_User
    Offline

    HKey_Current_User iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I have an ASUS RT-N56U which works great with three iPads, one iPhone, one Android phone, three Windows laptops, and all the various other stuff you might have (printer, NAS, Vonage, etc.).

    Definitely worth a look.
  10. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks Hkey - will take a look at Asus too.
  11. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi to All,
    I rang my daughter and asked which router they had as my Ipad works fine at their house ( they have security enabled ) and she told me they had recently changed their provider to British Telecom who provided a new BT Router ( a Hub ) as part of the Broadband Package so they no longer need the Belkin and will bring it up over the weekend to see if that solves the problem.
    The Belkin model is N + F5D8635 - 4 v1
    Anyone know whether this Router had a good track record?
  12. Keith66
    Offline

    Keith66 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire,England
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks to all for recommending that I should change the router.
    Our daughter brought their Belkin up at weekend as they now have a BT hub and we have set up the Belkin and it is fine.
    It also has a much better range than the previous router.
    Thanks to all.
    Keith
  13. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    Awesome news mate :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad 2 will not connect to asus router