Canada Online Ordering 2-3 Week wait already.....

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by yvrgal, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. yvrgal

    yvrgal iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I was hitting refresh since 1 am and the site finally updated 10 minutes later.

    To my dismay it's already a 2 - 3 week wait for the iPad 2. Leaving the warehouse on April 15th and receiving it on April 22. That's almost a month wait.

    I still ordered one online but I think I'm going to try and get my hands on it at London Drugs today.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011
  2. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,751
    Thanks Received:
    508
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +595 / 1
    Same in Australia I stood in line for over an hour and missed out as lack of stock on wifi models hey thats life I can live with it There were over 70 in line and this is a suburb of Brisbane 2-3 weeks is the Apple web site in Australia as well
     
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    So sorry to hear that col.bris!! I'm off to the Apple Store in Aberdeen today. If the line is too long, then it's coffee at Starbucks and straight home...

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  4. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Asking again.
    How come they don't ask who your carrier is? Doesn't that matter?
     
  5. yvrgal

    yvrgal iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi guys! I went to my local store yesterday and this guy said that last year, they didn't even have a line up for the first iPad. People just walked in casually. They didn't sell out until the next day.

    There's not a lot of inquiries in this store. I'll go there in the morning to see if there's a line up already. If not, I'll head to the office and then check the store again at 1.

    Good luck to us all! :)
     
  6. yvrgal

    yvrgal iPad Fan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You don't have to choose a carrier. All iPads are unlocked. You can use any SIM from any carrier in Canada.
     
  7. Biggysmallz

    Biggysmallz iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Interesting.
    How come in the US you have to stipulate whether it is Verizon or AT&T? They use different systems.
    For Canada you can use anyone? I would love to know how that works. I believe that Rogers and Bell use different systems. eg GPRS vs CDMA
     
  8. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    I am sorry to hear that too, Colin! Starbucks, Tim? My daughter is a manager at Starbucks ~

    What's your poison there?
     
  9. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    This is interesting. I would love to know more too!
     
  10. ratatapa

    ratatapa iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    All carries use the same technology in Canada

    While AT&T and Verizon use different ones
     
  11. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    So they all use the same.........carrier?
     
  12. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,751
    Thanks Received:
    508
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +595 / 1
    Ipad 2 release in Australia is going absolutely NUTS. I spoke to 9 people in line all were first time users can you believe that. I handed out my ipadforums card address to every one i could I was caught off guard but thats life I can wait ...........OMG 3 weeks .cry cry cry ohhhhhhhhhhhh lol

    It is Apple fever with out question in Australia Total sell out in less than 30 minutes in most stores. What Apple did same as USA is release it through multiple retailers ie many 3rd party stores It seems all sold out fast..... I am not concerned I think it is more important to think about the losses of life in Japan than worry about a delay in ipad deliveries...
     
  13. ratatapa

    ratatapa iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    FROM apple.com

    Wi-Fi + 3G model: UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    Wi-Fi + 3G for Verizon model: CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1900 MHz)

    SO AT&T use GSM and Verizon use CDMA

    From Apple.ca

    Wi-Fi + 3G model: UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA (850, 900, 1900, 2100 MHz); GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)


    Which means if you buy your IPAd in Canada you can use BELL rogers and Telus without a problem

    But if you go to USA you need to use AT&T

    While on the oposite

    If you buy a 3g Verizon Ipad2 you cannot you use it in Canada for the 3g

    So if you plan to come to Canada with your Ipad2 and 3g you need to be At&T then buy a sim from a Canada Carrier here and it will work
     
  14. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    ita!
     
  15. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Thanks for the clarification! So ~ would my iPad, wifi and 3G work there? I have AT&T.
     

Share This Page