What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

can IPAD read "raw" photo files ?

OP

3bavboys

iPF Noob
Reaction score
sorry - i googled and got my answer -

camera connection kit -

BUT -

can you hook up an external drive through the usb port to IPAD ?

Wolfpuppies3

iPF Noob
Reaction score
No and no

No raw files and no power to drive an external drive. The USB port provided with the camera connection kit doesn't even have enough power to drive a CF card reader.

Diane B

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I'm a photographer and this is how I'm dealing with backup. I used to shoot commercially for the furniture and textile industry and carried laptop and external drives to backup so I'm used to immediate backup. I really wanted to carry only the Ipad but I always shoot in RAW so I bought enough memory cards since they are quite reasonable now so that I could fill and then stick in a new one. I upload to the Ipad from the CC and keep the ones I want to view on the Ipad--or to share if I'm traveling etc. I keep my cards with the files on them and then when back to main computer upload to Lightoom/Photoshop (where I have redundant drives for backup). Works really well. Easier than carrying an extra drive. You can transfer your RAW files via Itunes to your main computer but I juet find this a much more hassle free solution for now

There is an app that supposedly allows processing of RAWs--PiRAWnha- but it hasn't had good reviews. I just shoot RAW+jpeg and use Filterstorm mostly plus Photogene if I choose to share or just for fun.

Diane

Last edited:
OP

3bavboys

iPF Noob
Reaction score
thank you for your replies ....