Can ipad be used abroard via 3g?

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by y121san, May 9, 2012.

  1. y121san
    Offline

    y121san iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm going to turkey soon (from uk) is it possible to use 3G as well as wifi?
  2. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Should be, but probably investigate getting a local SIM. Data roaming will cost an arm and a leg.

    Sent from my iPad 4 HD mini
  3. Mbspears
    Offline

    Mbspears iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S. Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yes, the international plans are way too expensive. I'm not as confident about the local SIM option, but you could explore it.

    Kevin, I'd love to see that iPad 4 HD mini!!!! Is that your wish list or code name for the iPhone? :)
  4. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    It's just my name for my iPhone 4. It goes back to the time when people were crying about the 4S "not being a real iPhone 5" and stamping their feet in temper because they felt that Apple had ripped them off. At the time I said "What's in a name?", quoted a bit of Shakespeare and renamed my iPhone 4 as you saw. As I move around a lot, I tend to post more with the iPhone than I do with the iPad, so for me it really has become my mini-iPad. The signatures are different for each device. (I don't take a lot seriously, in case you hadn't guessed.)
  5. KevinJS
    Offline

    KevinJS Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    10,266
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton AB Canada
    Ratings:
    +864 / 0
    Turkey is pretty much up there with the rest of Europe, especially in the tourist areas, so I'm sure a local option will exist.

    I just stole this from an external site.

    "I've been traveling in turkey for 2weeks and havent turned on roaming yet on my ATT 3g. Wireless is easily available: I'm using it right now. Wasted $25 on a data plan, and I'm up to date on email and bin laden."

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad 3g use in tureky