1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Can I use my IPad 2nd gen as a modem for my PC?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by venusphillips, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a problem with the wifi in the building am in right now and would like to use my iPad as a modem,mi have a 3G network on it and it works well but when I try to put in a VPN password then it asks me for a IPS secret frase or something like that and I lose it t that point.
    Any suggestion?
    Thanks!
  2. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,411
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Hello Venusphillips - welcome to the forum! :)

    I also have an iPad2 but w/ just Wi-Fi - don't quite understand your use of the word 'modem' above? Are you wanting to setup the iPad as a Wi-Fi hotspot? If so, not a possibility as far as I know. Now if you are connecting well via 3G, is the problem getting into your company's network via VPN? May help others if you can clarify your exact needs. Thanks - Dave
  3. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, thank you.
    Sorry for the confusion, yes I wanted to make my IPAD I wifi hot spot. I thought I could do its itshows the VPN option. Iam having trouble with my companies wifi to use it on my PC.
    So is it totally impossible to use my IPAD as a wifi spot?
    ML, Venus
  4. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,836
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,037 / 1
    No, I'm afraid not. You would need the iPad 3 or the new iPad 4 to create a wifi hotspot, as well as a cellular data plan for the iPad.
  5. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I see, my IPad 2 has a cellular plan, does that change anything?
    Venus
  6. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,836
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,037 / 1
    Sorry, but you can't create a wifi hotspot with a stock iPad 2 cellular data plan or not, you would need an iPad 3 or 4 to do that.
  7. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok cool,thanks.
  8. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't understand something, a little window keeps showing on my iPad saying that a new threat has been posted about this one but. Can't find them, can someone explain it to me please.
  9. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,836
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,037 / 1
    A new threat about this one, what? Could you post a screenshot of the pop up window with the warning?
  10. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,411
    Thanks Received:
    742
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Hi again - not sure that I understand your issue, sorry? Is this 'threat' showing up on your home screen, in one or more opened apps, or elsewhere? You could also take a 'screen shot' of the message and try to post back to this thread (if not done before, just press the Power & Home buttons simultaneously - the image will be saved in your Photo app) - good luck! :)
  11. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah! It keeps telling me that a new threat has been posted to the threat. But I can't see any, it shows up when my IPAD is locked and it shows a number on top of the IPF app, I open it and it shows that there is a new threat but when I look for it there is nothing. Really strange maybe am being stupid about this. But I don't understand it. If you understand what am saying. Hope this makes sense. TKs
  12. scifan57
    Online

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    19,836
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,037 / 1
    I believe that this thread may help understand the phantom notifications you're receiving from iPF about posts that don't exist.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/93828-you-getting-many-notifications-ipf.html
  13. asj2004
    Offline

    asj2004 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have you tried using a booster/router for your signal in our building?
  14. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Scifan, thanks for that link, that makes sense it was driving me crazy.
  15. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Asj2004, what do you mean by " our" building?
  16. MoonlitSonata
    Offline

    MoonlitSonata Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,369
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Good ol' Midwest
    Ratings:
    +152 / 0
    I think it was supposed to be "your"

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i use my ipad as a modem

,
can ipad be used as a moderm
,
how can i use my ipad as a modem
,
how can i use my ipad as modem
,
how to make my ipad a modem
,
how to use an ipad as a modem
,

how to use ipad as a modem

,

how to use ipad as modem

,
how to use ipad as modem for pc
,
how to use my ipad as a modem
,
ipad as a modem
,

ipad as modem

,
use ipad as a mode,#q
,
use ipad as a modem
,

use ipad as modem

,

use ipad as modem for pc

,
use my ipad as a modem
,

using ipad as a modem

,

using ipad as modem

,
using your ipad as a modem