Can I use my IPad 2nd gen as a modem for my PC?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by venusphillips, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have a problem with the wifi in the building am in right now and would like to use my iPad as a modem,mi have a 3G network on it and it works well but when I try to put in a VPN password then it asks me for a IPS secret frase or something like that and I lose it t that point.
    Any suggestion?
    Thanks!
  2. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +860 / 0
    Hello Venusphillips - welcome to the forum! :)

    I also have an iPad2 but w/ just Wi-Fi - don't quite understand your use of the word 'modem' above? Are you wanting to setup the iPad as a Wi-Fi hotspot? If so, not a possibility as far as I know. Now if you are connecting well via 3G, is the problem getting into your company's network via VPN? May help others if you can clarify your exact needs. Thanks - Dave
  3. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, thank you.
    Sorry for the confusion, yes I wanted to make my IPAD I wifi hot spot. I thought I could do its itshows the VPN option. Iam having trouble with my companies wifi to use it on my PC.
    So is it totally impossible to use my IPAD as a wifi spot?
    ML, Venus
  4. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,432 / 1
    No, I'm afraid not. You would need the iPad 3 or the new iPad 4 to create a wifi hotspot, as well as a cellular data plan for the iPad.
  5. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I see, my IPad 2 has a cellular plan, does that change anything?
    Venus
  6. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,432 / 1
    Sorry, but you can't create a wifi hotspot with a stock iPad 2 cellular data plan or not, you would need an iPad 3 or 4 to do that.
  7. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok cool,thanks.
  8. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't understand something, a little window keeps showing on my iPad saying that a new threat has been posted about this one but. Can't find them, can someone explain it to me please.
  9. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,432 / 1
    A new threat about this one, what? Could you post a screenshot of the pop up window with the warning?
  10. giradman
    Offline

    giradman iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +860 / 0
    Hi again - not sure that I understand your issue, sorry? Is this 'threat' showing up on your home screen, in one or more opened apps, or elsewhere? You could also take a 'screen shot' of the message and try to post back to this thread (if not done before, just press the Power & Home buttons simultaneously - the image will be saved in your Photo app) - good luck! :)
  11. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yeah! It keeps telling me that a new threat has been posted to the threat. But I can't see any, it shows up when my IPAD is locked and it shows a number on top of the IPF app, I open it and it shows that there is a new threat but when I look for it there is nothing. Really strange maybe am being stupid about this. But I don't understand it. If you understand what am saying. Hope this makes sense. TKs
  12. scifan57
    Offline

    scifan57 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    20,151
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Regina,Canada
    Ratings:
    +2,432 / 1
    I believe that this thread may help understand the phantom notifications you're receiving from iPF about posts that don't exist.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/93828-you-getting-many-notifications-ipf.html
  13. asj2004
    Offline

    asj2004 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have you tried using a booster/router for your signal in our building?
  14. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Scifan, thanks for that link, that makes sense it was driving me crazy.
  15. venusphillips
    Offline

    venusphillips iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Asj2004, what do you mean by " our" building?
  16. MoonlitSonata
    Offline

    MoonlitSonata Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Good ol' Midwest
    Ratings:
    +153 / 0
    I think it was supposed to be "your"

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can i use my ipad as a modem

,
how can i use my ipad as a modem
,
how can i use my ipad as modem
,
how to use an ipad as a modem
,

how to use ipad as a modem

,

how to use ipad as modem

,
how to use my ipad as a modem
,
how to use your ipad as a modem
,
ipad as a modem
,

ipad as modem

,
use ipad as a mode,#q
,
use ipad as a modem
,

use ipad as modem

,

use ipad as modem for pc

,
use my ipad as a modem
,
user my apple ipad as a modem for my pc
,

using ipad as a modem

,

using ipad as modem

,
using ipad as modem for pc
,
using your ipad as a modem