can i use at&t ipad 2 on t-mobile.

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by xxcysxx, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. xxcysxx

    xxcysxx iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD USA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello everyone,
    i'm looking to buy an ipad 2 when its become available. i'm interested in the at&t model because its gsm and it uses a sim card. however, i want to use it with t-mobile network. so my questions are, is the at&t ipad 2 locked to at&t network?
    does it use the small simcard kind that is on the iphone 4?

    If the ipad 2 were to be unlock from at&t network, and i can get a small simcard from t-mobile and able get data service from it. would i be able to take full advantage of the 3G capability of the ipad on t-mobile network? or is it just going to be EDGE connection.

    If the ipad 2 would not be able to connect to t-mobile network at 3G, then it would be a waste to spend the extra money even if it support edge. because my phone support hsdpa on tmobile and it is fast and i can just tether the ipad to it instead. but i would prefer to go all out if i can take advantage of the added function to its fullest potential.

    Thanks
     
  2. Wolfpuppies3

    Wolfpuppies3 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +10 / 1
    No, you cannot

    In any event, it is not locked.

    This is not a telephone.

    AT&T's 3G data service is pay as you go, no contract. I almost never use mine as WiFi is available so universally. If I do need it, I can turn the 3G service on for the time I need it and then turn it off.
     
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    The only issue you might face is that you may need to activate it first on the AT&T network - maybe I'm wrong (I usually am!) but I've been reading posts from members who have bought an AT&T iPad and then found that they need to activate it before they can insert another non-AT&T microSIM.

    See the thread below for some information

    Other than that minor consideration, there's not any problem.

    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-help/17319-no-service-coverage-area-help.html

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  4. jail4

    jail4 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    possible but unlocking is necessary..
     
  5. Wolfpuppies3

    Wolfpuppies3 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +10 / 1
    Problem solved

    AT&T is buying T Mobile.
     
  6. lakeron

    lakeron iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Even if you unlock it I believe the 3G frequencies are different at least they are for the phones
     
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    Great news!! Two networks for the price of one!!

    Tim
    Scotland
     
  8. Tarkio

    Tarkio iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Then iPad 3 will be out by then. It won't happen until 12 months after it's approved, if it is approved.
     
  9. hoshnasi

    hoshnasi iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ceritos, california
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This is correct.
     
  10. Dungther

    Dungther iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm currently running tmobile edge since I opened the box. Not the fastest but enough to get by when on the bus or train.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. GlenL

    GlenL iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That's hard to believe, but I guess everybody has different Internet speed tolerance levels. When my iPhone on AT&T switches to Edge network from 3G, I am cursing up a storm at the sluggish response.
     
  12. hoshnasi

    hoshnasi iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ceritos, california
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Tmobile and AT&T share the same EDGE connection type. Meaning you can use an iPad on tmobile, just not 3G. Which I would argue is the goal...
     
  13. GlenL

    GlenL iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I was referring to the "enough to get by" comment. Yes, Tmobile and AT&T edge are compatible.
     
  14. twinsmama

    twinsmama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    ipad2 with T-Mobile?

    Hi Dungther,

    Really!? So excited! I want to buy ipad2 3g model but I am hoping I could use it with T-Mobile prepaid. Are you using prepaid or monthly plan? Do they have micro sim or you bought a "custom-cut" one? Many thanks for your comments.
     
  15. Dungther

    Dungther iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have an extra line that I'm waiting for the contract to end. So might as well cut the sim and use it for my iPad. If I really need the speed, I'll just pop in the AT&T sim and pay for a month if I'm traveling but I'm ok with everything since I'm usually just surfing, FBing and tweeting.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

att ipad 2 on tmobile

,
can att ipad run on tmobile
,
can i use an ipad mobile
,
can i use att ipad on tmobile
,
ipad 2 t-mobile speed