Bug in iOS 8's 'Reset All Settings' Option Also Erases iCloud Drive Documents

Discussion in 'User News Submissions' started by Ser Aphim, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. Ser Aphim

    Ser Aphim
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,023
    Thanks Received:
    171
    It appears that there may be a serious bug with the "Reset All Settings" option in iOS 8, causing users who activate the feature to lose all of their iWork documents stored in iCloud Drive. According to multiple posters on the MacRumors forums, using the "Reset All Settings" option under General --> Reset has caused documents to be permanently deleted from iCloud Drive.

    The "Reset All Settings" option explicitly says that "No data or media will be deleted," (The irony) and it is meant to reset all user preferences to the default out-of-the-box settings. That the option is deleting iCloud Drive documents appears to be a serious bug, though it may be limited to Apple's own iWork apps like Pages, Keynote, and Numbers. One user had all of his iWork documents wiped by using "Reset All Settings," while other app information remained in iCloud.

    Users who have iCloud Drive enabled may want to refrain from using the "Reset All Settings" option on their devices for the time being, in order to avoid accidentally erasing important documents stored in iCloud Drive.

    Source: MacRumors
     
  2. twerppoet

    twerppoet
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend II

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20,423
    Thanks Received:
    6,104
    Apple had problems with the iCloud servers today. That is probably what caused the problem, rather than Reset All Settings. A coincidence.

    Thats a guess, of course. But there really is no reason why Reset All Settings would do anything to iCloud or iCloud Drive content. That's one of the settings areas that does not get set back to default when you use Reset All Settings.
     

Share This Page