Bootlogo and gestures...

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by queenie521, Jun 3, 2011.

  1. queenie521

    queenie521 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Sorry, I've got another question for you. When I jail broke yesterday I checked off something about enabling boot logo and gestures. I am running 4.3.3. Does boot logo work with this version (if so, how do i change it) and what exactly does the gestures option give me?
     
  2. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Boot logo works with 4.3.3, just download one from Cydia. Gestures are simple. Just pinch 4-5 fingers on the screen to go to the home screen. Swipe 4-5 fingers up to see the multitasking bar, swipe 4-5 fingers left or right to switch open apps. The gesture settings can be found in the settings app.
     
  3. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    To get bootlogos installed, you must install a Cydia package called "animate". It will also get automatically installed whenever you install a bootlogo. Try "Animate Apple", which is nice, and my favourite iPad one. The two default logos which come with "animate" are iPhone, so look weird on our device. iPad bootlogos are available, but are few and far between. You'll have to search for them.

    Once installed, go into the settings App and scroll down the left to "BootLogo" and tick the one you want. Next, reboot, and you should see it work!

    Hope that helps.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011
  4. queenie521

    queenie521 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I do not see gestures in settings and those gestures you mention don't do anything when I try them.
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Just to double check, you don't see the options in the bottom right of the attached screenshot?

    If not then it doesn't sound like you enabled the option on redsn0w. Haven't heard of them just not appearing. You can run redsnow again over the top of your current setup, and just check the gestures option ONLY. That should enable it if missing. Just don't check anything else though. You won't overwrite or lose anything if you do this.

    Hope that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. queenie521

    queenie521 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks.......I just totally missed it before. Swipe between apps doesnt seem to be working for me though. (other gestures work fine now)
     
  7. queenie521

    queenie521 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Btw..... "iPad Lightning BootLogo (HD)" is very cool
     
  8. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    No problem. Sometimes its best to show a pic!

    Have you got SwitcherMod installed? If so turn OFF "Show Current App". That stops swipe between apps working.
     
  9. queenie521

    queenie521 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ahhhhh......you are a genius. Thank you once again!
     
  10. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Shucks. :blushing
     
  11. goribildo

    goribildo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    maybe u know why bootlogo doesn't work on my ipad? it boots normally even after i enable it...
     
  12. graywolf

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,652
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    You download a bootlogo from Cydia, go to settings, tap on bootlogo on the left, and select it. Easy.
    You did that and it still doesn't work?
     
  13. goribildo

    goribildo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yep but anyways i removed the feature didn't like it thanks for answering wolfy
     
  14. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Just in case anyone else searches and follows up the discussion in regards to a bootlogo not working, the following steps must be completed in order for them to show...

    1. The actual jailbreak MUST have been applied with the "enable bootlogo" option enabled, otherwise no matter what you do or install afterwards, bootlogos won't work. If you forgot to do this, you can easily run redsn0w over the top of your current setup as long as you ONLY select the "enable bootlogo" option.
    2. "Animate" must be installed from Cydia.
    3. BootLogo in the "Settings" app on the iPad must be configured and a bootlogo selected.

    Note, the bootlogos that come with the "Animate" package are designed for the iPhone and look terrible on the iPad - Try downloading "Aninmate Apple' which is a nice full screen iPad bootlogo to test.

    Finally, of course, REBOOT! :D
     
  15. goribildo

    goribildo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i tell u what,i'm very scared of redsnow since i tried to do something with my iphone and it deleted all my 25gb of apps,games,music,pics,etc etc what i tried to do was to upgrade to the latest os (4.3.3) and i succeded but it was like jailbreaking a brand new iphone,got the 4.3.3 with 32gb free and all my stuff gone so tell me if i'm wrong once u run redsnow it tells u to browse for the ipsw that u want to install and then it tells u to enter dfu mode,conect it to itunes and select the hacked ipsw,that's what i did and as i said it deleted all from my iphone and then i had no signal so i needed to upgrade the baseband and then run ultrasnow to unlock the phone,it was a nightmare and a very sad day for me so believe me i don't want to mess with redsnow unless it's to jailbreak a brand new iphone or ipad
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to animate apple boot logo on 4.3.3