1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Bookmarks in icab

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by addiosamigo, May 31, 2011.

  1. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    After a recommendation from you guys on here I purchases icab this morning.

    Liking it so far but how do bookmarks work? When I add a bookmark it adds it to the toolbar, is there not an option to just add it as a bookmark without going to the toolbar?

    Any other tips? What makes this browser so good?

    Cheers
  2. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    Tap the Bookmark icon. Before you choose New Bookmark, navigate to the folder you want to save it in. In order to back out of a folder you are already in tap the button at the top left of the list. It sounds like you are in the Bookmarks Bar folder. Tapping this button (which probably says Bookmarks) will take you back to the top level folder.

    Taping it again (when it says History) will take you to, you guessed it, History. :)
  3. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    So is bookmarks on the toolbar all the time? The only thing I could do is rename the 'news' folder to 'bookmarks' and then I used that!

    Cheers
  4. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    The bookmarks menu is the icon that looks like an open book. I'm no longer sure I know what you are talking about though, perhaps a screen shot?
  5. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    You don't need to use the Bookmarks Toolbar if you don't want to. You can turn if off in the opening screen of the apps settings.
    Other than that, the bookmarks in iCab work very similarly to Firefiox and Chrome. You can create your own folders and whenever you save a bookmark you just tick where you want it saved to... Experiment a little more. You should pick it up in no time...
  6. Mountainbikermark
    Offline

    Mountainbikermark iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,395
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Colonial Heights,Va
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    [​IMG]
    Sounds like you are saving it in Quick Starter. Bookmarks is just above.


    Support Our Troops!
    This post was Tapatalk approved
    Sent from wherever I'm at right now via my Apple tablet
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011
  7. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    Oh, I see what is going on. The bookmarks toolbar automaticaly shows the first items in the bookmarks menu, whether they are folders or what. I'm used to there being a specific folder to contain these, rather than the top level. Looks like the way to control this is to use the Edit button and drag the bookmarks you want to show in the bar to the top.

    I was confused because I have a folder named Bookmarks Bar, but that is legasy from importing my bookmarks from Safari on the iMac.
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,986
    Thanks Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,998 / 1
    Sheesh, another way to add bookmarks. This one looks handier than opening the bookmarks themselves. I don't use iCab often, so I haven't fully explored it. Maybe I should take the time. :eek:
  9. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Ok so that's that sorted, I think.

    How do you save passwords and usernames in forms?

    I tried Facebook but it doesn't seem to work?

    Cheers

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  10. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    I'm honestly not trying to be an ass... but :D

    Have you tried the help which is built into the app? See the screenshot I have posted. There are LOADS of good topics built in which explain many of the apps features. Have a look through that and come back with any questions you have then! ;)

    It's not that we're unhelpful, honest :)

    Attached Files:

  11. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    I looked at that! Jeez his lazy do you think I am (I said that to tim as well:)) try going to Facebook and put your username and password in and then click save form, then try to fill form, nothing!

    Is it Facebook?

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  12. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    Well, that's why I said it in a nice way. You would be amazed at the number of people who just don't bother. To be fair and in my defence, the help system also explains the bookmark stuff which is why I wondered! :)
    If you had said, I read and followed the instructions and it STILL doesn't work, that would at least have helped! But you just asked "How do I..." which I interpret differently... sorry.

    Now that we KNOW you are not dumb and are following the instructions, I'll look into it a bit further for you OK? :D
  13. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Yes thanks very much!

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  14. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    OK. So I just tested it.

    Facebook home page. Entered my details. Choose "Save Form".
    Go to google.
    Return to Facebook. Choose "Fill Out Form"... All my details are filled in perfectly.

    No problems. Sorry.
  15. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    Hmm I'll give it another go then! Thanks

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  16. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    One thing to check - You haven't turned on "Private Browsing" have you? I doubt features like form filling would work in the private world, since it is strictly PRIVATE!
    If the URL box is pink you have it turned on.
  17. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    It seems to work now! Don't know what I was doing wrong!

    Cheers

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  18. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    It's a miracle! ;)

    Glad you got it working though...
  19. addiosamigo
    Offline

    addiosamigo iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0
    My forms don't work again but only on facebook! Must be facebooks site!

    Sent from my iPad2 using iPF
  20. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    OK. Mine still works, but the iCab help does clearly say if the website form changes then saved forms may stop working and you will have to save them again. Maybe the page you are looking at changes dynamically?
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
add a bookmark to ipad home screen icab
,
can you transfer safari bookmarks to icab?
,
change icab favorites
,
how to sync bookmarks in icab
,

icab bookmarks

,
icab browser for ipad bookmarks
,
icab browser move bookmarks
,

icab chrome sync

,
icab edit bookmarks
,
icab sync bookmarks
,
icab sync bookmarks chrome
,
import bookmark to icab
,
import safari bookmarks icab
,
import safari bookmarks into icab
,
importing bookmarks to icab
,
ipad4 bookmarks
,
safari bookmarks to icab