Black keyboard update?

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by beavery, Feb 21, 2012.

  1. beavery

    beavery iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    iPad 2 running iOS 5.01 jb with absinthe ( also happens on my iPhone 4s with same jb) When I entered Cydia yesterday, Black Keyboard was saying that there was an update. I click in update, wait for it to go through, restart the springboard button. Cydia has a '1' badge upon respring, so I open it up and the update is still saying it needs to be installed?! This is a repeating cycle on both devices, I have tried a power down and off, even a re-boot.

    Any ideas out there?
     
  2. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    It could be a mistake on the package parameters which has been submitted to the repo. The developer will likely fix it, but to get the fix, you will just need to keep an eye on it for a version change. If they fix the package without changing the version number, you will just need to keep re-installing it until you get a fixed version. Try once per day until it gets fixed. Not much else you can do.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. beavery

    beavery iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Thanks :)
     
  4. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Still getting the problem of outdated key when Cydia loads up, I hope they sort the problem out soon, I love my black keyboard
     
  5. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    You could always drop them an email to let them know using the contact details on the package in Cydia ;)
     
  6. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    I sent an email a while back, sent another tonight, hope I get a reply.

    The outdated key problem links to hackndev.org, which is one of the standard repos that comes with Cydia. So I'm sure I can't be only person getting this?!

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas f4780y?
     
  7. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Not a standard repo AFAIK... Sure you didn't add it?
     
  8. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Not that I know of, when I go into sources, then edit, it is an item that cannot be deleted......I just thought that meant it was supposed to be there.

    Hmmm the plot thickens.
     
  9. f4780y

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,106
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +636 / 0
    Could be an old repo... Did you use a pkgbackup restore after your jailbreak or anything like that? That may have brought across an old repo from your previous install...
     
  10. TheRambler

    TheRambler Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3,068
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lancashire, England.
    Ratings:
    +125 / 0
    Ahaa, that may just be it! Thanks for that.
     
  11. beavery

    beavery iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    213
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Black keyboard is now with a "-2" at the end. It's installed and no problems so far on my iPad :)
     
  12. Bingoldsby

    Bingoldsby iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    272
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    The Cydia blurb about the app states: "Not compatible with iOS 5." I'm seeing the same thing. It's a little annoyance that I can live with, if there is no other choice for a black keyboard. I'll check out the "-2" part now.

    [[ EDIT ]] Just upgraded it again - I had to do a "Clear" function, but then it installed the upgrade. It does still say not compatible with iOS 5, but now the update badge number is gone from the Cydia icon.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012
Similar Threads
  1. Gemnilocs
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,974
  2. boonekingdom
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,983
  3. sethdoy
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,154
  4. TheRambler
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,175
  5. HowBoutThemPack
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,421
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

black keyboard cydia

,
black keyboard cydia ios 6
,
black keyboard for ios5
,
black keyboard iphone ios5
,
black keyboard on ios 5
,
blackkeyboard ios 6.1.2
,
cant get black keyboard on iphone 5a
,
cydia black keyboard
,
cydia black keyboard ipad 5.1.1
,
iphone update keyboard black