What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best PDF Reading App

kevincousland

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Hello. I'm a first year medical student and I'm in need of a PDF reading app in order to read medical e-books in PDF format.

I specifically want/need these functions:

• View text, pictures, graphs
  • Zoom function
  • Works offline (pdfs are not streamed, are stored in the ipad)
  • Can open large pdf files
It will be better if it's free.

Any help will be appreciated. :)

Gabriel1

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I like GoodReader as it allows me to make notes on the pdf's......may be useful if you are studying?

The Archangel

Gabriel1

iPF Noob
Reaction score
kevincousland said:
Does it have a zoom function? Offline file storage? Can it view images?

Thanks for the quick reply btw.

Yes, I can zoom in by speeding my fingers on the page and yes, I can view off line.......at least I think I can (I'm almost never offline), yes just went into airplane mode and all my pdf's were still openable and yes, I can view the images in a PDF report I have in it currently.

The Archangel

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
Actually, iBooks will do everything you've mentioned, and it is free.

The benefits of the other apps mentioned is that they will allow you to annotate, and export files as well.

OP
K

kevincousland

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Actually, iBooks will do everything you've mentioned, and it is free.

The benefits of the other apps mentioned is that they will allow you to annotate, and export files as well.

However, I read at other forums that it selectively opens .pdf files, and sometimes it doesn't open books not bought from itunes store.

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score