Banl microsim

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions - Site Assistance' started by smita, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. smita
    Offline

    smita iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    I am new iPad user.Got a IPad 2.
    Got a Bsnl connection. It works fine when I am inside my house, but if I take it out can not connect to Internet. Can anybody help?
  2. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,862
    Thanks Received:
    1,289
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,365 / 0
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

    I take it that you have a sim card in your iPad? Do you have Cellular Data turned ON? Look in Settings - Cellular Data. Has your sim card been activated? Do you have wifi inside your house and could your iPad be connecting to this? Look at the top left of your iPad and what do you see here, if it's using your sim it will say 3G, if wifi it will have the wifi emblem which looks like a small radar. (that's the only way I can think to describe it)

    The IPad Forum is a community of members from all walks of life and from all over the world coming together to share our experiences and to help each other learn about this wonderful piece of technology the Ipad. There is a wealth of information already here in the many threads we have so doing some searches will answer most of the questions you have. If then you cannot find the answer you are seeking then by all means post your question. There are many friendly and informed members here only too willing to help you.

    We also have our own App - It is a very simple app to navigate.
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/discussion-forum-for-ipad/id412896524?mt=8
    Reading the IPad manual is a great place to start so please download a copy of these.
    http://www.support.apple.com/manuals/ipad/
    3 very informative threads from which you will learn many tips and shortcuts for the IPad.
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-general-discussions/21590-tips-tricks-those-us-who-dont-know.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-os/49581-ios5-tips-tricks.html
    http://www.ipadforums.net/ipad-help...shortcuts-helpful-places-people-new-ipad.html
    We have rules like any Community so please read these also
    http://www.ipadforums.net/forum-rul...um-rules-everybody-please-read.html#post14697

    Once again we welcome you here and are so pleased you have joined us!
    • Like Like x 1
  3. smita
    Offline

    smita iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    I have a sim card which shows 3G . Also have wifi at home.
    When inside if I turn of wifi still I can work on 3G . But if I take it out it turns to E. Although bsnl has strong network in my area.
  4. leelai
    Offline

    leelai Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24,862
    Thanks Received:
    1,289
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1,365 / 0
    There may be something obstructing you that your getting E (Edge) Try turning your Airport mode on and off to force your iPad to reconnect to 3G....
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4,348
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +91 / 0
    Congrats on the iPad and welcome to the forum!

Share This Page