What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bad to connect new iPad into old pc?

lightbearer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
What's going on guys, I just got a new iPad 4, it's my first time owning an iPad, and I'm afraid to connect it into my 5year old Toshiba laptop which may be dirty (viruses) since its running like **** and I havnt used an antivirus in years.

I'm aware that these things rarely get viruses but I know they're not bulletproof so that's what brings me to ask this question.

On another note, I'm looking for a good folio type case, I have a incipio kickstand, it's alright but I'm wanting something different. Anyone have a portenzo?

MapleNuts

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Just ordered one. Nearly $200 but gorgeous.

Regarding your old infected laptop, either get some good virus software, but personally if it is that far gone, I would wipe the laptop clean, by reformatting and reinstallation of the entire OS and install anti virus going forward. IOS can still get viruses as they they are quickly becoming the device of choice.

Last edited:

Somerled

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
www.deckyon.com
Get some virus software and malware software. For malware specific stuff here at work, we use MalwareBytes.

The iPad itself cannot get PC viruses. It just can't. Completely different operating systems. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes installed.

OP
L

lightbearer

iPF Noob
Reaction score
I'm pretty short on cash right now so can't afford the anti-virus for my laptop, I was just worried that transferring files from the iTunes on laptop could harm the apple. Thanks for the replies

Somerled

iPF Novice
Reaction score
Website
www.deckyon.com