Backgrounder stopping

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by edwardrjones, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. edwardrjones
    Offline

    edwardrjones iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have the latest version of backgrounder installed and apps run in the backgrounder but then sometimes stop. This happens when I load some games such as real racing HD.

    For example skype is running in the background, I start real racing then come out of it and skype has stopped along with every other app that was running in the background.

    Does anyone know what may be causing this? Could it be to do with low memory caused by running a memory intensive application such as real racing HD

    Thanks
  2. Demandarin
    Offline

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    Ive noticed this also. I think it does have to do with the memory getting low. Once it gets too low it shuts down one or more of the appsnbackgrounded. Try setting all to background, not native. Itll prob. Do it less but wont stop. With backgrounder,nwe have true backgrounding, and apps on pre os4 take as much memory as it needs for the individual app. Its not like Android or OS4 where the program is put on a kind of "Pause". Then pops backnup exactly where u left off. Hopefully someone else chime in cuz im intersted on more info also.
  3. young blade
    Offline

    young blade iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've also noticed the same problem using twitter..

    The moment I press the home button the app gets killed.. So I switched over to multiflow but still the same experience..:eek:
  4. muyoso
    Offline

    muyoso iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Its because Apple launched a tablet with only 256mb of memory when their damn phone has 512mb. They of course did this so that next year they can offer a "new and improved" model. Apple loves to purposefully gimp their devices because they know that their customers will just end up buying a new model every year as they slowly trickle out hardware "upgrades".
  5. Demandarin
    Offline

    Demandarin iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,251
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0
    You are correct. What they should have done was ship the ipad with 1-2GB of Ram, then we talkin plenty for "serious" multitasking. It just depends on what u running. The browsers, mail, IM programs seem to use the most ram. Also the ipod n video.
  6. Dr.Gee
    Offline

    Dr.Gee iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    408
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0

    word.
Similar Threads
  1. Matth3w
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,918
  2. stump
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    10,856
  3. Timey
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    38,359
  4. hawksam66
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    538
  5. Timey
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    17,644
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

stop ipad background programs