Auto time zone set is messed up

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by zstairlessone, Jan 13, 2014.

  1. zstairlessone

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    Last night my iPad decided it is still on Cupertino time and it isn't. Now I have to set the time zone manually, first time this has ever happened. It also now goes to a West Coast server as local for Speedtest. I am sure the two are related.. I rebooted my iPad and it shifted to normal, but after closing the cover and re-opening it I'm back in Cupertino.

    Any ideas?
    iPad 3, cellular running iOS 5.1.1 no jailbreak and only running on WiFi
     
  2. J. A.

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12,834
    Thanks Received:
    4,017
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +5,124 / 6
    Are Location Services enabled?
    In case it's not: turn it on for a short time to set the right time zone, then disable it again.

    Did you sync it your iPad to a computer before this happened?
    Maybe the time on the computer is wrong, which would also change the time on your iPad.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014
  3. zstairlessone

    zstairlessone iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,052
    Thanks Received:
    440
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +441 / 0
    That is what makes this so unusual - I haven't synced it in a couple of weeks and had location services on. It was acting normal until late in the day when I noticed the clock on the top bar was off by a couple of hours.

    I cycled location services off and on - first for the clock/time zone and when that didn't work then globally.

    After trying this I manually set the time zone and flipped the switch back to auto and suddenly I was again back in Cupertino time.

    Next I shut off my WiFi thinking maybe I somehow was going through a server on the West Coast but no change.

    I then rebooted, it picked the correct time zone, but when I folded the cover over to have some cookies (we can't live by iOS alone :)) and opened it back up, well there I was - back in Apple Mecca (at least according to my time zone).
     
  4. J. A.

    J. A. iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12,834
    Thanks Received:
    4,017
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Apetlon, Austria
    Ratings:
    +5,124 / 6
    Do you have "Reset Location Warnings" in Settings - General - Reset? (I'm asking, because resetting it that way helped some users, but the feature isn't in iOS 7 any more. - Not sure if this exists in iOS 5.1.1)
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

Share This Page