Auto fill not very good on iPad2

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by Archer, May 29, 2011.

  1. Archer

    Archer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi

    I use Roboform on my laptop when I find competitions that I want to enter on line, fills in the basics mr, first name, last name, 1st line address, postcode, phone, email, Roboform on the laptop does this perfect, now I am trying to pack my old laptop away to the retirement home I want to be able to use the iPad2 take over this little job, I find very rarely that it will fill in any of the boxes.
    Anyone else have the same issue or am I doing something wrong.
    I have gone into the settings and set it up, I have even tried using different contacts as default still the same result.
     
  2. Jeeper

    Jeeper iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    I haven't had very good luck with auto fill, after struggling with it for a while, I just turn it off.
    Stick around though, maybe someone here has some tips.
     
  3. richsadams

    richsadams iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3,500
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NW Left Coast
    Ratings:
    +99 / 0
    Autofill and other functions that we're used to using on desktops, laptops, etc. are not always fully functional or sometimes useful on mobile devices like the iPad as they run two different operating systems.

    The issues are generally either with the app itself or on the other side of the equation; web browser, document, etc. For example, your web browser will automatically notify the website's server what kind of device you are accessing it on and the server will generate web pages accordingly. (This is why sometimes when you visit a site a popup may appear informing you that "there's an app" for the website or business.)

    Many web developers are creating and updating websites to be compatible and optimized for mobile devices. They started with smart phones and are now on to tablets like the iPad. Unfortunately many websites are still in the works and others are not being updated at all.

    So many of the abilities and options that we're used to using with a "normal" computer just don't work, or don't work quite as well on mobile devices like the iPad. More often than not it's not that the iPad cannot do what needs to be done, it's usually that the app (an autofill app in this case) or the website, document, etc. has not been optimized accordingly. Sometimes a note to the app developer or the web master of a site may get some action.

    As time goes on the convergence of computer and mobile OS's will become closer and I expect one day the OS used on mobile devices will be somewhat stripped down versions of computer OS's...or it could go the other way around. In any case the day will probably come when developers will simply create programs, applications, websites, etc. that meet the requirements for both worlds. We'll see a strong move in that direction when Apple's OS X Lion OS is rolled out next month. Unfortunately we're not there just yet.
     
  4. Cartoonipad

    Cartoonipad iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    What gets me is that my autofill worked fine... UNTIL upgrading my ipad2 to IOS6. Now, like too many apps I resist updating, fearing a new bug will foul something up, my iPad is basically useless for entering competitions, as the OP said. Apple, please fix this!
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
Similar Threads
  1. elltell
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,457
  2. Grinchy
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    8,121
  3. ipadforums.001
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,656
  4. Pauley
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,966
  5. linnrr
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    546
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
auto fill on ipad
,
cannot find the auto fill on ipad 2
,
how do i program auto fill on the ipad
,
how do you program autofill on i pad
,
how to auto fill on ipad 2
,
how to change autofill information on ipad 2
,

how to change ipad autofill

,
how to fill roboform on ipad
,

roboform

,
set up i pad 2 tool for auto fill ins