Attempt to update iPad3 to iOS 6, iTunes only gives me errors, now I have no use

Discussion in 'iPad Help' started by FrustratedRage, Dec 16, 2012.

  1. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Attempt to update iPad3 to iOS 6, iTunes only gives me errors, [solved]

    Hello friends. I finally decide to update my iPad to the iOS 6 or is it something like 6.11, anyways, I wanted to update my ipad3. I connected my USB cable to my computer, opened itunes, backed up my things, synced everything, when and clicked on update. After it spends 15 minutes downloading, it tells me about an error “something..something…1611â€. I click on the link, try to read through what to do about it.
    I updated my itunes to the newest version just today. My W7 is updated.
    Now all I have is this on my screen, [​IMG]

    I tried disconnecting my ipad, and reconnecting it. I then get this message, [​IMG]. I tried getting my ipad out of recovery mode, there are many videos on youtube about how to do it, but it did nothing, after the sliced apple logo pops up, it just goes back to that image of the usb cable pointing at the itunes logo.

    So now I have no use of my ipad, and being in the hospital right now, I was using it a lot, I am really tired of how difficult Apple makes the simplest things. I don’t know what else I’m supposed to do.
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2012
  2. Deanp
    Offline

    Deanp iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just out of interest, is this iPad jailbroken (hacked)? And is the update button on iTunes greyed out?

    Sorry that you are in the hospital. Get well soon!

    D
  3. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Jailbroken? hmm... I do not know. I bought through craigslist, what does jailbroken do? it has worked flawlessly up to now. The update button was not grayed out, because I pressed it to update my ipad
  4. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,435
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 0
  5. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you Mickey, this guide would be wonderful if Apple didnt hate their customers.
    I tried getting my ipad into DFU mode 24 times, no effect, it keeps going back to the same screen that I showed in the original post.
  6. Deanp
    Offline

    Deanp iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NZ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have you tried restoring the iPad on iTunes?
  7. sunder36
    Offline

    sunder36 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    same prob

    hye there... im actually having the exactly same problem as yours! please help me too... all the methods in youtube n evrywhere still cannot work... hope any expert can help me too... nw my device is in restore mode n i can only go to DFU mode.. tats al i can d0 with my device! restoring through itunes cant work also... pse help!!
  8. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,435
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 0
    Did you try following the steps [exactly] as outlined in the link I provided above?

    Marilyn
  9. AQ_OC
    Offline

    AQ_OC Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,418
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    SC
    Ratings:
    +430 / 0
    Something odd is up with your iPad. Apple does not make the ipad hard to use, in fact it is quite the opposite. If you did in fact buy a jailbroken iPad, you can't blame apple for that.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  10. sunder36
    Offline

    sunder36 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yea... I have tried the method in ur link... Bt it doesnt work too. My ipad is jailbroken 5.1.1 ! Hope anyone of u have any method fr me to try... Actlly i tried through redsnow to restore thn ipsw n select the firmware.. . I slect the corr t firmware and the process was running until d end... It says the firmware u selected might not b the perfect firmware with your ipad... *** problem i dunt know
  11. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,435
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 0
    At which step in the tutorial I linked did the process fail? This tutorial has helped many a person upgrade to the newest iOS (6.0.2 as of this writing). If you can tell us where it failed - we might be able to fix the tutorial. Thanks.

    Marilyn
  12. sunder36
    Offline

    sunder36 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Penang, Malaysia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    image-128421278.jpg

    Hey.. The problem through the method is .... The error 3194 occur! U can see in the pics i attach... I acttly i tried watchng many videos on utube rgarding to solve error 3194 bt still cannot... I want to save my shsh also i have some problems.. Can u help me... Thn if any prob occur i can tell u asap so easier to solve....
  13. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I don't know if you think that everyone is supposed to know everything about everything, but some of us don't read everything written about every product made. I don't have any other "jailbroken" items, and I didn't know that such a thing even exist on the iPad. I bought it to use for work, not jailbreaking. So I am sorry if I am blaming apple for a problem that I have with an apple product.

    I followed these directions, http://www.ipadforums.net/jailbreak...lsafe-method-restore-current-version-ios.html, step by step, tried it multiple times, to no effect.
  14. Mickey330
    Online

    Mickey330 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,435
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 0
    When you are trying the tutorial, where is it failing? And, what, specifically, does the error code say (if there is one)? Or, are you still having issue getting it into DFU mode?

    Marilyn
  15. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It fails when I try to put the iPad into DFU mode. I have read the DFU mode for Dummies thread, and have watched youtube videos, and had others time me while I held the various buttons, but the screen just keeps going back to the original USB cable pointing to the itunes logo.
  16. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Greetings,
    Another thing to check on you computer is the firewall and the antivirus. I had to disable mine one time to restore my iPad. I learned about the antivirus software causing trouble when restoring. I didn't have to uninstall the antivirus there was a temporarily disable the antivirus until I reboot option. I went for that and the restore went just fine.
    Good luck. The instructions you were following work just fine. You may have to try them a few times to get it to work out.
  17. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I tried going into DFU mode for more than 2 hours. But I did not read anywhere to disable my AV. I guess I will try that next. But... some sites say you can get into DFU without being connected to your computer, so the AV shouldn't really matter. I will let you know if I can do it.
  18. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I disabled my AV, it didn't help. I guess now I have to find some place that will charge me half the cost of the ipad to fix it.
  19. Fid
    Offline

    Fid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hinterlands of Northern California
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Have you tried connecting your iPad to a different USB port on your computer? Specifically, try one of the ports that is directly connected to your motherboard (on the back of the computer). My PC has two USB ports on the front of the computer and six or seven on the back. The front ones mess up some of the time, especially with the iPhone.
    I am hoping that you can get this fixed without having to shell out some hard earned cash.
  20. FrustratedRage
    Offline

    FrustratedRage iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    This is a very interesting suggestion, however, I am using a laptop of sorts. It is he ASUS G74S, I do not know which USB ports connect directly to the motherboard.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to update ipad3 to ios through itunes

,

i attempted to update itunes today and now do not have

,

ipad3 upgrade 6.3 failure

,

itunes error updating ipad 3 to ios 6

,

itunes update ipad3

,

itunes will not let me update ou do not have permission ios 7.0.4

,

tried to update ipad and now i have a usb cale pointing to itunes