AT&T 3G network overseas

Discussion in 'iPad Carriers' started by michaelruggeri, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. michaelruggeri
    Offline

    michaelruggeri iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My question is about the 3G network on the iPad. Is this the same 3G network that is advertised on TV where you see Bill Kurtis getting the internet in the far flung corners of the world, or is that another AT&T network? If it is the same network, does this mean we can take our iPad around the world with us and get internet reception? Does anyone know? And if that is the case, do you get charged extra beyond the $30 a month unlimited plan for the iPad?

    Thanks for any responses.

    Mike
  2. wot_fan
    Offline

    wot_fan iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Yes the iPad will work overseas with your AT&T service. And yes it cost more to roam internationally. Since the iPad is unlocked, price wise you would probably be better off buying a pay-as-you-go plan from a provider in the country you are visiting.
  3. iVan
    Offline

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    Here in Canada AT&T is affiliated to Rogers. On the other hand, 3G isalso available with Bell and Telus...
  4. michaelruggeri
    Offline

    michaelruggeri iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    AT&T and Rogers in Canada

    IVan says AT&T is affiliated with Rogers in Canada. Do you think this may mean that one can use the 3G AT&T plan in Canada on the Rogers network without an extra charge?

    Mike
  5. wot_fan
    Offline

    wot_fan iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    No. You always pay extra when roaming out of the US. iVAn was pointing out that when roaming in Canda you will use the Rogers network.
  6. iVan
    Offline

    iVan iPad Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near Montréal Québec
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    I said more that it's likely that Rogers/AT&T would be the providers in Canada because or their noted affiliation but there is still no definite news about it.

    Other contenders are Bell and Telus. They also have 3G and iPhone clients...
  7. col.bris
    Online

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,585
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +480 / 0
    The answer is it s expensive as its called roaming I would use wifi in Australia If you like burgers naccas offers free access or buy a prepaid card that will apply in any country you go to out side of north america. It is NO different than a mobile phone
  8. col.bris
    Online

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,585
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +480 / 0
    More from me Frankly I would use wifi in other countries as its free and faster as i said in a recent post Australia ( 15 hours by 747 many years by boat ) does yes it does have free wifi but limited Back packers and tourists not to mention locals all know the spots Mac Donalds is one of them So one can down load files do every thing you want for free at the hot spots In Brisbane city 1 kl ( col thinks how many miles that is ) Queen street and the mall is hot wired , that is all free so hope that helps. Many cafes also offer free wifi access also

    colin down under
  9. kheldour
    Offline

    kheldour iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    522
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne, Germany
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    International Roaming fees will kill you. BEWARE !!!!

    There will be two options:

    1. Buy local pre paid cards, for Germany "Blau" or "Simyo". Both offer 1GB for about $15/month and offer Micro-Sims !!!!

    2. Other than in the US, most wireless Hotspots are NOT free of charge in Europe. But, again in Germany, you get one hour per day free access at any McDonalds.

    You can also get T-Mobile-Hotspots at every european Starbucks and german McDonalds.
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2010

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
at&t network overseas
,

att ipad overseas

,

can ipad with cellular be used ocerseas

,
can you connect ipad with celluar overseas?
,
celular access abroad for ipad
,

does an ipad through at&t work in canada?

,

does at t 3g work in canada

,

does at&t 3g work in canada

,
does at&t 3g work in germany for ipad
,

does at&t 3g work overseas

,

does ipad work in canada using at&t

,
does it cost to use ipad overseas
,
does the at&t version of ipad work overseas
,
is it safe to take my ipad abroad
,
using att 3g ipad overseas
,

using ipad overseas

,

wiil ipad air celluar work ocerseas

,
will att wifi on my ipad work overseas
,
will my at&t 3g service work in canada
,
will my ipad 2 3g work overseas