AppleTV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV' started by RAC, Sep 7, 2010.

  1. Digikid

    Digikid iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Markdale, Ontario
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    The underlined part.
     
  2. arshield

    arshield iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    marietta, ga
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I like the idea of the apple TV but with no storage it will not have any Tivo functionality. So it will not replace anything that I already have. I will have to keep my Tivo. My Wii already streams netflix and I don't really want to start paying apple for video. If it had a little storage and would work like a basic Tivo, I would buy it. But without storage, I can't justify it.
     
  3. Prasius

    Prasius iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Uk
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    So you're happy to buy a device which will do exactly the same thing as a device you have already got, but not buy a device that does something completely different? :confused:

    Does your Tivo or Wii stream your entire iTunes library & contents of iPads, iPhones & iPod Touches to your TV? I think not ;). This is the entire point of AppleTV to me... (and probably to apple...). This is what Microsoft was trying to do with Windows Media Centre, but Apple are going to nail it by going the reverse route. You already have tones of media in you itunes Library... Why not view it on your TV? ;)
     
  4. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0
    Oh! That's a good thing! Thanks!
     
  5. arshield

    arshield iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    marietta, ga
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Actually my Tivo will sync with my computer. But I don't really want that. My computer is already in my livingroom. I would be happy to move away from a $12 a month tivo fee if the apple tv would do the Tivo thing. But right now Apple TV doesn't do anything that another device that I already have doesn't do as well or better. If I could get rid of a monthly fee or consolidate devices, I would think about it.
     
  6. gentlefury

    gentlefury iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,617
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0
    No you won't...it is cloud based. You want to watch a movie or show you pay for it then it just adds it to your account...you want to watch it you watch it...it should have a small amount of flash memory to be able to rewind/load and also FF/load. All it needs is about 8GB of memory in order to be able to accommodate one movie at a time (which is all you could possibly watch anyway. You watch your movie, then when your done it deletes the residual data.....much like how netflix works.

    If you want to buy anything tho you will need a computer to stream from.

    I do all this on my PS3, so they will have to come up with a little bit more to get me to buy an apple tv...but if you don't have a media streamer yet...for $99....in HD...you can't beat that!!
     
  7. SweetPoison

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,913
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +134 / 0

    Right? I don't!

    But I will. Come November.:D.
     
  8. Bluesjam

    Bluesjam iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Ok, I have a couple of questions. If I buy 2 Apple TV's and install them on two different TV's in my house, now since my iTunes will be streaming the feed would it be able to be shown on both TV's at the same time? If it's on the Wifi it looks like it would work.
     
  9. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,811
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +678 / 1
    Yes you select multiple speakers in itunes on pc or mac then select each itv
     
  10. Bluesjam

    Bluesjam iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    I have 6 LCD's in the house, I can see all kinds of options.
     
  11. Ross101

    Ross101 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    apple tv and i pad problems

    Hello All

    i have recently purchased and ipad 2 ,air port express, and apple TV hoping to use the remote app for the pad but having problems syncing remote app to Apple TV.

    I noticed the icon on itunes next to the genius icon which allows you to select apple TV computer or air port express i would assume that you would choose airport express icon?

    I have also found that the onetime it worked it was very slow the airport express was no more than 20 feet away in a different bedroom, my thoughts are to run a LAN cable plug the airport express right next to the apple TV unit hoping to improve performance.


    any thoughts guys would be much appreciated

    Cheers Ross
     
  12. DefBref

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    If you want to control the atv and there's a atv option why would you assume the airport express is the correct option? Those options are destinations for when you use AirPlay, so if you want to listen/watch something on your atv then select it, want to listen on your airport express select that.

    As to actually using the remote to control your atv, are you signed in to homesharing on the atv, iTunes and the remote app using the same account. Also is your iPad connected to the same network as your atv?
     
  13. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,811
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +678 / 1
    Guys this is a old thread I think I will setup new forum for apple tv after consultation with owners as it is part of the iPad, iPhone solution what do you think
     
  14. DefBref

    DefBref iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Egremont
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0
    Do you mean a new subforum here, or a totally separate forum like the iPhone one?

    I don't think you would get the traffic to warrant a separate forum and as a subforum, I would suggest it includes apple tv airport express and other airplay hardware.
     
  15. col.bris

    col.bris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,811
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Brisbane , Queensland Australia
    Ratings:
    +678 / 1

    That is exactly what I mean. Apple tv is main then sub forums for each other Give me time guys ok I am still sorting. Out the new sub forums in international
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple tv
,
apple tv and ipad direct
,
can apple tv connect directly to an ipad
,
connect appletv directly to ipad
,

connect ipad directly to apple tv

,
connect ipad to apple tv with no wifi
,
how does apple tv communicate with ipad
,
how does ipad communicate with apple tv
,
how to connect an ipad to apple tv box
,
how to connect ipad to apple tv without wifi