Anyone using mostly 3G?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by Summer, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Summer

    Summer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi, I will be getting my new iPad2 in about another week. Can't wait. I live in a rural area and do not have wifi at home so I will mainly be using AT&T 3g. I was wondering if anyone else is mostly using 3G. I'm wondering how much that will really end up costing me in a month.

    Thanks,
    Summer
     
  2. Loraco

    Loraco iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I do I have wifi but I mostly use 3G I only use wifi if I have to!
     
  3. DontUnderstandMyIpad

    DontUnderstandMyIpad iPad Guru

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3,193
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Outside my iPad, or was it inside?
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0
    It really depends on your usage.

    When I was using only 3G for 2 month, I ended up using 15GB/month, though that included tethering.

    For browsing the web 1GB/month would be my min., 3GB/month with radio streaming and the occasional news show and everything above depending on how much video is streamed.
     
  4. Summer

    Summer iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for the replies.
     
  5. k7lvo

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Just curious, but why do you prefer 3G when wifi is available? Or, am I misunderstanding your comment?
     
  6. Loraco

    Loraco iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    338
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Because it seems to run slow when I have both on so I just use the 3G and I pay for it monthly so so I use it! I travel a lot so I need it!
     
  7. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 1
    I'm the same - I have WiFi at home but I live in a rural area so my ADSL broadband is slow but, by good fortune, I have a 3G basestation on a hill within sight of my house, so I get a better data rate and, since I'm on an unlimited plan, I use 3G whenever I can.

    What drives me **crazy** though is the iPad's insistence that it won't download movies, apps or video of greater than 20 MB over 3G. So I have to leave my movies downloading overnight at a fraction of the speed I could get with 3G.

    Tim
     
  8. k7lvo

    k7lvo iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medford, OR
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Okay, understood. In fact, as I type this I have the wifi disabled because the "high speed" network supplying the hotspot is practically at a standstill.

    Tim, I think that limitation is to protect AT&T's network from even more overload. :D :p.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to use ipad in rural areas

,

ipad in rural area

,

ipad rural areas

,

iphone use in rural area