1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Anyone Have this error on 5.1.1

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by niosama, May 27, 2012.

  1. niosama
    Offline

    niosama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i everyone since i update my ipad2 to 5.1.1 now i cannot use any iphone app on my ipad because of the keyboard error. Does anyone know how to fix it? I did restore my ipad twice already!

    Attached Files:

  2. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,374
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +956 / 0
    Wondering if the iPhone app is needing a update to 5.1.1 to make it work on your iPad?
  3. niosama
    Offline

    niosama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i was wondering too! but i have tried on different iphone app and the keyboard is like this!
  4. skimonkey
    Offline

    skimonkey Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    18,374
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Michigan. USA
    Ratings:
    +956 / 0
    Can you reduce the screen to a smaller. I know with some of my iPod apps, I have an option to increase the screen to 2x. Can you leave it at the original size for it to work?
  5. niosama
    Offline

    niosama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    oh nope they still display the same keyboard even at 1x
  6. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,935
    Thanks Received:
    1,807
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,913 / 1
    Have you tried reseting the iPad after the restore? Hold down the power and home button until the Apple logo apears, then release. The iPad should reboot.

    You can also try Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings. Use the As New iPad option. This will not erase any information or apps, or even your accounts; but you will have to go through most of your other settings to tweak the iPad back to how you like things.

    Be certain you choose the right one; the Erase All Content and Settings will do exactly what it says.

    Also, when you say you did a restore, did you restore from backup? If so, you probably just copied the problem back to the iPad. You'd need to do a full Restore (no backup), which like the above Erase All. . . option puts the iPad back into out of the box condition.
    Last edited: May 28, 2012
  7. niosama
    Offline

    niosama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i did full restore and i dun usuall back up my content! everything is freshly download. i was wondering if anyone have ipad 2 16gb wifi + 3g and have the same problem as mine on 5.1.1 oh i did reset all setting and the erase one! i have faced the prolem with all the iphone app i have tried so far such as viber,lne messenger, cubie messenger, instagram....
  8. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,935
    Thanks Received:
    1,807
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,913 / 1
    I'm out of ideas then.

    Maybe a full firmware restore via DFU mode. You will need to go to the Hacking area for instructions for that. Read the sticky posts there.

    If you have an Apple Store in reasonable distance, a Genius Bar appointment might be best.
  9. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    Is your iPad jail broken? I ask because there is another member on this forum having a very similar problem to yours, but his iPad is jail broken... His keyboard is also messed up on his iPhone apps.

    Marilyn
  10. vividenigma
    Offline

    vividenigma iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    After my iPad was jailbroken I have randomly had a blank keyboard at times but just have to close and reopen a few times. I did update to the new Ricky racon today and haven't seen the error today yet.
  11. niosama
    Offline

    niosama iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    thz all guy actually have found the cause of it! i have to jailbreak and correct it on my own through ifile. problem solve :)
  12. twerppoet
    Offline

    twerppoet iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    15,935
    Thanks Received:
    1,807
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Walla Walla, WA
    Ratings:
    +1,913 / 1
    Thanks for the update.
  13. peschtra
    Offline

    peschtra iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grayslake, IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Where in iFile did you fix this?
  14. peschtra
    Offline

    peschtra iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Grayslake, IL
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Was there any resolution in the other thread? Can you post the link?
  15. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    The other person in the other thread had a jail broken iPad2. He had installed RetinaPad and FullForce and then discovered this problem.

    His solution was that he had to restore to stock iOS 5.1.1 and then re-jailbreak his iPad.

    Marilyn

    P.S. I would have linked, but I can't find it...!
  16. stratus
    Offline

    stratus iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am having the same issues with all 3 different iPad: iPad, iPad2, iPad3 > all running the same 5.1.1 and jailbroke with Absinthe.
    As already mentioned by other members, this was happening after I tempted to install RETINA PAD tweak. My experience on those 3 diffrent generation of iPad is installing RETINA PAD, without combination at all with Full Force.
    As already mentioned as well (sigh... I am to late to read this post..), no other way to get the "garbled" keyboard working even after uninstalling the retina pad.

    I think my option left was only to restore and rejailbreak.

    Do hope someone can have nicer solution rather than restore and rejailbreak again.

    Aside to niosama, please kindly help to inform us, how to manually fix this issue via iFile.
    Thank you so much and really appreciate it.
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012
  17. stratus
    Offline

    stratus iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dear niosama, look forward to have your great sharing solution on how to fix this "garbled" keyboard issue through iFile.
    Thank you so much.
  18. Mickey330
    Offline

    Mickey330 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,296
    Thanks Received:
    1,597
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Western NY state (USA)
    Ratings:
    +1,664 / 0
    Well, so far, the only solution of which I am aware is to restore and re-jailbreak as nothing else seems to work.

    I'll join you in your hopes that niosama returns to post his solution to fix it via iFile. Sure will save time and effort - especially if you've got three iPads affected.

    Good luck.

    Marilyn
  19. vividenigma
    Offline

    vividenigma iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Mine resolved when I updated Ricky Racoon in Cydia but I uninstalled full force and retina pad a few days afterward to be shure and ran iCleaner as I do every time I make a update.
  20. stratus
    Offline

    stratus iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have got the solution without restore and rejailbreak.
    Just install the updated retina pad v. 1.34 / the latest one, it should fix the keyboard.

    Another think to try is changing the keyboard to any international keyboard available.
    Just look for the alternative with latin character.

Share This Page