1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

AnyBody notice the 3G phone number?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by figmo10, May 1, 2010.

  1. figmo10
    Offline

    figmo10 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Anybody notice that the 3G has a phone number assigned? Look in your welcome email from AT&T. This could be interesting for the new OS, no?
  2. Sonny Burnett
    Offline

    Sonny Burnett iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Not really,

    I have had customers that used their blackberries strictly for data (no phone service) and every one of those blackberries has a phone number as well.

    The question is can you use VOIP over the AT&T 3G network. I have seen carriers not allow certain protocols to run on their networks because it circumvents their own voice service.
  3. Edlex
    Offline

    Edlex iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Well the fact that OS 4.0 is advertising the set up for skype and presumably att will still be the carrier by the end of the year I would say you could use VOIP. Since technically att must have already approved skype it's probably just considered another data stream to them. Just a guess, I really have no idea but it would follow the logic.
  4. Seadog
    Offline

    Seadog Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0
    You can use Skype now with the camera kit, but it may easier with OS 4.0.
  5. ipadgypsy
    Offline

    ipadgypsy iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    yeah this prefilled number is causing me all kinds of connection problems, i've been on the phone all day withh att and apple -still not resolved for 3g connection.

    the cellular hook up is horrible!
    i am so frustrated!
  6. 4phun
    Offline

    4phun iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    738
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Mine works perfectly.

    BTW the AT&T phone number is a dummy number used for 3G record keeping internal to AT&T.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
are ipads assigned a phone number?
,
are tablets assigned phone numbers
,
can i use the phone number assigned by att to ipad
,
changing phone number assigned to ipad
,

find ipad phone number

,
how do you find the phone # associated with an ipad?
,
ipad has a phone number
,

ipad has phone number

,
ipad phone number what it is for
,
is a phone number assigned to an ipad?
,
is an ipad phone number automatically assigned
,
what is the phone number associated with my ipad
,
what is your ipad phone number used for