AnyBody notice the 3G phone number?

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by figmo10, May 1, 2010.

  1. figmo10

    figmo10
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    517
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Anybody notice that the 3G has a phone number assigned? Look in your welcome email from AT&T. This could be interesting for the new OS, no?
     
  2. Sonny Burnett

    Sonny Burnett
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Not really,

    I have had customers that used their blackberries strictly for data (no phone service) and every one of those blackberries has a phone number as well.

    The question is can you use VOIP over the AT&T 3G network. I have seen carriers not allow certain protocols to run on their networks because it circumvents their own voice service.
     
  3. Edlex

    Edlex
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well the fact that OS 4.0 is advertising the set up for skype and presumably att will still be the carrier by the end of the year I would say you could use VOIP. Since technically att must have already approved skype it's probably just considered another data stream to them. Just a guess, I really have no idea but it would follow the logic.
     
  4. Seadog

    Seadog
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,522
    Thanks Received:
    52
    You can use Skype now with the camera kit, but it may easier with OS 4.0.
     
  5. ipadgypsy

    ipadgypsy
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yeah this prefilled number is causing me all kinds of connection problems, i've been on the phone all day withh att and apple -still not resolved for 3g connection.

    the cellular hook up is horrible!
    i am so frustrated!
     
  6. 4phun

    4phun
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Mine works perfectly.

    BTW the AT&T phone number is a dummy number used for 3G record keeping internal to AT&T.
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
are ipads assigned a phone number?
,
are tablets assigned phone numbers
,
can i use the phone number assigned by att to ipad
,
changing phone number assigned to ipad
,

find ipad phone number

,
how do you find the phone # associated with an ipad?
,
ipad has a phone number
,

ipad has phone number

,
is a phone number assigned to an ipad?
,
is an ipad phone number automatically assigned