What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Any Navy Aviators out there

pilgrimav8r

iPF Novice
Reaction score
I am trying to put a presentation together in Keynote. Basically, I am looking to see how in Numbers/excel I can?

The problem, a ship/platform is moving in a compass direction (360 deg) the relative wind is coming from a compass direction (360 deg) pilot decides to approach said platform from what is the best available direction to give some sort of, if possible, into wind effect.

Now I have a 30 degree vector picture (12 for a 360 panorama of the landing ship/platform)

I'd like to be able to enter the ship/platform heading where this would give me the best available into wind effect and from there be able to see the picture of what the platform/ship approach will look like?

Anybody any ideas where to start?

twerppoet

iPad Fan
Reaction score
I don't see any way to do that in Keynote. You can't do computations and apply them, nor can you use a spread sheet and have it update in Keynote. It might be possible using PowerPoint and Excel on a computer, but I'm pretty sure that kind of sheet/file linking is not possible on the iPad versions.

The only thing I can think of that might do the job is Codea, a game/physics programing app for the iPad. You'd have to learn a bit of programming in Lua, but not a lot. This kind of simulation should be easy(ish).

You'd have to do the presentation from the iPad, pop out of Keynote for the simulation, then go back to your Keynote.

Of course, if you don't need a Iive demo, but just preset simulation of how it would look if it worked, you might manage something in Keynote with transitions, videos, and/or GIFs.