Annoying problem with Atomic browser

Discussion in 'iPad General Discussions' started by cruiser51, Aug 4, 2011.

  1. cruiser51

    cruiser51 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I've got the Atomic browser app which I find to be excellent and way better than Safari, except for one very annoying problem which I'm unable to solve:

    I use on-line banking regularly which involves a few security login steps. When I use Atomic to try and log in, I get to the last login screen but then it always reverts to the first login step. This happens no matter which browser identity I use. When I use Safari, I can login fully without any problem.

    Can anyone help me solve this mystery? :confused:
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011
  2. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    Does your bank have an app you can use, instead of the browser?
     
  3. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,006
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0
    i use Atomic because i find it the next best thing to Safari, only because safari doesnt support tabs. but it soon will :)

    have you tried changing the 'identify browser as' setting to safari desktop?
     
  4. K1W1

    K1W1 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    or any of the other options to see if one works.
     
  5. cruiser51

    cruiser51 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    As I mentioned in my op, I've tried all identities - makes no difference.

    To answer the other question, my bank does have an app, but it's severely limited and not suitable for my purposes.

    I could understand that there may be some insoluble security issue with my bank related to using the iPad for this purpose, but the fact that Safari presents no problem is a real mystery to me.
     
  6. Kaykaykay

    Kaykaykay iPad Wizard

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6,971
    Thanks Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +443 / 0
    Don't know why the difference, but you might email the Atomic browser developers and ask. They seem on the ball about adding features. Even if you don't get what you want, you might get an explanation.

    From my experience with Atomic, it has great features, but is more limited when opening various links and is more effective at blocking popups compared with Safari. Maybe there are tradeoffs being made in access vs. security? I find it weird, though, that apparently innocuous links won't open in Atomic. I've pasted ones in forum posts, tested in Atomic and found they wouldn't open, but opened fine in Safari, for instance.
     
  7. larla

    larla iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Pop-up blocking could possibly be the culprit. If there is a pop-up as part of the security chain, then not seeing it (and thus not using it) might cause a revert to the start of the chain again.
     
  8. cruiser51

    cruiser51 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    This sounded really promising larla, so I temporarily disabled ad blocking in Atomic but it makes no difference. The login sequence still throws me back to the first step! :mad:

    I've taken some earlier advice and sent an email to the developers.... will keep you posted!
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
atomic browser no sound
,
atomic browser problems
,
atomic lite no sound
,
atomic web browser no audio
,

atomic web browser no sound

,
atomic web browser sound
,
atomic web no audio
,
atomic web no sound
,
no sound atomic web
,
no sound in atomic web browser