1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

an issue after Ipad 4.2.1 jailbroken

Discussion in 'iPad Hacking' started by Raef, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. Raef
    Offline

    Raef iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KSA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    good day everyone,

    i have my Ipad 3G+wifi 64GB 4.2.1 jailbroken after that my SIM Card not working..

    it keeps searching for network then it gives No Service

    plz advise..
  2. Raef
    Offline

    Raef iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KSA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    124 views and no one response :S
  3. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    AFAIK the Jailbreak process does not interfere with the 3G wireless or baseband of your iPad in any way. I don't know what your problem may be, but would suggest a full restore and start from there.
  4. graywolf
    Offline

    graywolf iPad Super Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,655
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC USA
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    F4780y nailed it. That is about all you can do...... Unless anybody else has any ideas?
  5. tidus10
    Offline

    tidus10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    315, Ny
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Did you dl SBSettings? If so dl that in Cydia, swipe across the status bar(top bar that shows battery and whatnot) and make sure the edge AND 3G are turned on. It happens on my iPhone sometimes that it magically gets shut off.
  6. Raef
    Offline

    Raef iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    KSA
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    i was told that greenp0ison doesnt support Ipad 3G 4.2.1, is that right???
  7. sfarringto1
    Offline

    sfarringto1 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's working for me. I don't use the 3G part since I found mywi but I am JB with it and working fine.
  8. Spink10
    Offline

    Spink10 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    626
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It works

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  9. TmacD
    Offline

    TmacD iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I actually have the same problem, no 3G signal after JB 4.2, installed SB setting, 3G icon is showing green but no service...
    Is it neccesary really necessary to do restore and another JB

    Thanks
  10. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    No, that is not right. Whoever told you is wrong. There is nothing in the jailbreak code which in any way interferes with the 3G wireless, or baseband. Jailbreaking has noting to do with wireless communications. It doesn't need to touch them and there is no fundamental difference in jailbreaking a device without 3G such as an iPod Touch or iPad WiFi, and a device with 3G such as an iPhone.

    The only things which can possibly interfere with these are applications which are installed from Cydia after a device is jailbroken, even then I don't know if anything that breaks 3G service permanently or which a reboot doesn't resolve.

    That is not to say that something has not gone wrong in the OPs situation. But this is most likely a one-off anomaly which will be resolved by restoring and re-jailbreaking.

    Hope that helps.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  11. SweetPoison
    Offline

    SweetPoison iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14,940
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0
    Helped me!! Very informative as usual ~ going into my notes.:D
  12. TmacD
    Offline

    TmacD iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    YUP, restore and a new JB and now I am back to normal receipt.
    Thanks guys
  13. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    Thats great news. Enjoy your jailbreak!
  14. swamzi
    Offline

    swamzi iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    After restore, did you click on new ipad or restore from backup?
  15. swamzi
    Offline

    swamzi iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Also, after restoring, I get the following message and "no service" again:

    "waiting for activation"

    Any thoughts?
  16. tidus10
    Offline

    tidus10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    315, Ny
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Restore and new iPad
  17. tidus10
    Offline

    tidus10 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    315, Ny
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    That should go away if you had it activated at the AT&T store and if not you can always try to remove the SIM and put it back in.. Other than that just go throughout iTunes following the steps to reactivate
  18. swamzi
    Offline

    swamzi iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ah, I restored to backup, had "no service", went to AT&T store, got a new SIM, same problems. Going to try to restore and chooose "new Ipad" and hope things work.

    Thanks for the response.
  19. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,107
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +630 / 0
    IMHO as a general rule of thumb, you should really only restore from backup if you have a known good configuration and you are not performing a mojor upgrade to the OS, although that's not to say it doesn't work outwith these scenarios.

    Almost all the problems I deal with relating to restores are where people are doing a major upgrade of OS version but restore the backup from a previous version. In particlar it is the wireless communications (both 3G and WiFi) which seem to be most suseptable to glitches after a restore from backup.

    Nine times out of ten, a restore and setup as new will fix things.
    Whilst it may be a pain to lose some app data, the majority of "stuff" can be resynced either from iTunes or the cloud.

    Hope that helps.
  20. swamzi
    Offline

    swamzi iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    So, restored to new ipad. Still have "waiting for activation" message popping up after reboot. Took out SIM and re-inserted, still no luck after new ipad restore. I think I need to go to the apple store.

    Any words of wisdom?

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ipad 2 wifi not working jailbroken