All About Music And Recording

Discussion in 'iPad Apps' started by ipfuser55, May 8, 2011.

  1. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thought I'd try a thread dedicated to music apps and recording on the iPad. Amplitude, GarageBand Irig and what all you musicians out there do with them.

    I know there are a few of us here, so call this a thread for discussion on all iPad related music topics!

    I am putting together a setup with Amplitube myself at the moment, so all information, hints and tips would be most welcome!

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  2. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    Great idea, Jeff. There have been several iPad music-related posts over the last few weeks since the release of the iPad2 and it would be good to have a thread in which they can stay together.

    Tim
  3. Hayles66
    Offline

    Hayles66 iPad Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8,876
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset-UK
    Ratings:
    +324 / 0
    yay, you did it, let's hope you get loads of members with similar interests. Update every so often with any news or new apps discussions.

    from Somerset UK on my iPad using IPF app
  4. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Will do, should have said that this is for ALL musicians, whatever your instrument, age or level of interest......Not just for pro's

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  5. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It was Hayles66 she made me do it :) be interesting to see how it goes!

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  6. Shaunyshaun1234
    Offline

    Shaunyshaun1234 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi all!

    First post etc etc!

    I play guitar in a local band and plan to get irig and amplitube once my pad arrives (supposed to be tomorrow).

    Can you record in amplitude? Would be ideal for me to be able to record simple guitar ideas for new songs and things!

    Thanks
  7. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Amplitude is full of inbuilt options and in-app purchases to enable the budding musician to do basically whatever he or she wishes (including a multi track recording facility). Yup, in-app purchases; I know this is a dirty word to a lot of people, but personally I've nothing wrong with the idea, especially in such a highly polish pro piece of kitt such as this.
  8. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    You can, since you are going to be ahead of me with your kit, keep us posted! A question: I was just on Amazon looking at the kit, and they show a mic. As well. I use Rode NTC pro mica, but these need phantom power. Any ideas on how I can get them to work with Amplitube? I don't want to buy that cheap mic.

    Cables for guitars and bass, I will need and the unit itself. I play a Strat, a Fender precision pro bass, Yamaha Compass Acoustic electric 12 string, and would also like to use my Roland EXR 5 keyboard.

    Phew, this may take some setting up :)

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  9. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ah, but will it stack up against Cubase, and my 64 track Roland? Can't wait to find out.

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  10. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Aye, there are numerous options and combinations of getting rigs to work, take time to browse amplitudes web site. It's fantastic.
    You can also purchase a specially made quality iPad microphone there ;)
  11. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I think I can use my Rode mics. Really can't see the other ones stacking up, but I have a cunning plan :)

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  12. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I will catch you all tomorrow, need to catch up with a few calls that I've been letting the answering service pick up all day :) . No wonder it says iPad junkie next to my name!

    Keep the ideas flowing!

    Jeff

    Sent from my iPad using iPF
  13. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    I've used Amplitube on my ipodtouch on stage before now for basic effects to my guitar, rigged up directly to the p.a. System in the hall. Brilliant it was. Trouble was the levels were controlled by a young spotty oink the other end of the room in his control box. Didn't have a clue. Wish I'd have done it myself directly through my amp.
  14. Shaunyshaun1234
    Offline

    Shaunyshaun1234 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Behringer do a phantom power box that you plug into the mains and this box provides the phantom power to the mic!

    I'm sure it also has other outputs rather than just xlr so you could plug the mic into the box then use a guitar cable to plug into irig!

    Don't quote me on this though as I'm only assuming! Although behringer definitely make a phantom power box!
  15. incapete
    Offline

    incapete iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I'm pretty sure you can use the camera connection kit to plug a USB mic (or usb midi keyboards) into the ipad which opens up loads more options... I'm hoping to try it with an avid pre-amp with USB outputs so I can use my existing mics. Or maybe something like the Blue icicle coupled with a battery powered phantom source.

    There's also a very cool new adaptor product from Apogee which is essentially a pro version of the irig (although it uses the dock connector instead of the headphone/mic socket) - I'll dig out a link if I can.
    Last edited: May 8, 2011
  16. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Useful Stuff

    Thanks for that. my desk provides phantom power as well, but that box would do the trick. xlr on my bass amp should work, but will have to wait until I have all the gear here. I have a pair of top end Genelec studio monitors that I will also work into the equation. Funny, I thought this would actually reduce the amount of cabling that I normally use :D

    Looks like more gaffa tape!!!
  17. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Apogee

    Thanks for the information, I have several local suppliers and have decided to have a look to make sure I've got it all..... Nothing worse than finding out your one cable short when you get it all out :)

    I'm going to get advice about the active pre-amp in my 12 string too. Will stick to my Rode mics, they pro studio with eq and gain controls on the mic itself.... Can't see a £39.00 offering beating them. Looking forward to getting it all up and running, and interfacing the desk with it all!
  18. sjleworthy
    Offline

    sjleworthy Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,004
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0
    Trouble is when you're a budding guitarist and it's a passion of yours, you can end up spending an absolute shed load of cash on crap that, a lot of the times, you'll shelve or never use. But it'll make you happy :)

    My guitar based bits and bobs collection could probably pay off my mortgage if I sold it all, and that's not including the real important bits :eek:
  19. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Over The Years


    I have collected SO much stuff I could open a music shop. The list is huge, but apart from the guitars, keyboards mixing and recording equipment, FX pedals and footswitches mike stands etc. etc. (and that's just the living room) The bedroom is full of amplification: Marshall, Fender, Vox

    But it's all in use, and I need it! :D
  20. ipfuser55
    Offline

    ipfuser55 iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Have ordered it all from Amazon, should be here by the 14th! Then the fun can start :)

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
24 bit iphone recording apps
,
amplitube studio vs garageband
,
amplitude vs garageband
,

best ipad recording interface

,
casio wk 3300 not recognised
,
garageband or amplitude on ipad
,
gig with ipad 4 amplitude live
,
how to connect kawai es6 to ipad
,
how to connect my ipad to pa for voice recording
,
ipad latency irig forum
,
ipad music recording forum
,
ipad tablet music recording 24 bit
,
irig hd wont connect with ipad3
,
is there a red light on ipad to indicate youre recording
,
music recording on ipad
,

shure x2u ipad

,
skipping issues with amplitude recording with ipad
,
unable to connect kawai es6 to garageband
,
using garageband b3 for live gig
,
zero latency recording on ipad