Air printing

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by alanboots, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. alanboots

    alanboots iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    Having problems connecting my HP printer to Sky router, the printer asks me to enter a pin number in the router configuration, I can't find anywhere to enter this information.
    Help!!!!
     
  2. helix2000

    helix2000 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    You would get that numnber from the router. Looks like it is asking for the router security access code/pin. Do you know if your router is setup for WAP (wireless access point)? If so there is some sort of security code generated by router that you view by connecting to router (default ip address is 192.168.1.1) logon/password should be with router instructions.
     
  3. alanboots

    alanboots iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    It's the printer that's giving me a pin code on its setup screen to enter into my router configuration. When I go into the configuration screen on the router I can't see anywhere to enter the pin so that the printer can access the network.
     
  4. helix2000

    helix2000 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I have the HP Pro 8500A and when setting up wireless connection I needed to add the secure code from the router to printer for it to communicate with router. What model printer do you have and are you trying to setup wireless connection?
     
  5. alanboots

    alanboots iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hi,
    I have the HP desk jet 3070A
     
  6. alanboots

    alanboots iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Trying to set up a wireless connection
     
  7. donka

    donka iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0

    This wasn't the pin that is part of the eprint service that you enter online to the HP website to link your printer to it?
    You can manually configure the printer to your Wifi using just the normal Wifi name and password.
     
  8. helix2000

    helix2000 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I found the below instructions:

    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    Wireless Settings Menu method1. ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]Press the [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Wireless [/FONT][/FONT]button on the printer to display the Wireless menu. If the printer is printing, in an error state,or performing a critical task, wait until the task has been completed or the error cleared before pressing the
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    Wireless ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]button.
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    2. ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]Select [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Wireless Settings [/FONT][/FONT]from the printer display.
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    3. ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]Select [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]WiFi Protected Setup [/FONT][/FONT]from the printer display.
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    4. ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]If you have a Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPS) router with a WPS push button, select [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]Push Button[/FONT][/FONT], and then followthe onscreen instructions. If your router does not have a push button or you are not certain if your router has apush button, select [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]PIN[/FONT][/FONT], and then follow the onscreen instructions.
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    NOTE: ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]The product begins a timer for approximately two minutes during which the corresponding button onthe networking device needs to be pressed or the router PIN needs to be entered on the router’s configurationpage.
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    Traditional wireless connection (requires router)​
    [/FONT][/FONT]
    To connect the HP All-in-One to an integrated wireless WLAN 802.11 network, you will need the following:​
    Connectivity 33​
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    Connectivity​
    [/FONT][/FONT][/FONT]
    A wireless 802.11b/g/n network that includes a wireless router or access point.​
    [FONT=Arial,Bold][FONT=Arial,Bold]
    NOTE: ​
    [/FONT]​
    [/FONT]802.11n will only support 2.4GhzA desktop computer or laptop with either wireless networking support, or a network interface card (NIC). Thecomputer must be connected to the wireless network that you intend to install the HP All-in-One on.Network name (SSID).
    WEP key or WPA Passphrase (if needed).

    I guess what would help now is to know what make/model your wireless router is. Possibly yours does not have a pin but instead the SSID code that needs to be entered. I am sure we will get you where you need to be in order to print.
     
  9. alanboots

    alanboots iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks for that, the router is a Sagem.
     
  10. helix2000

    helix2000 iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I found below for Sagem router:

    If you must switch to WEP first connect to the router using provided [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]ethernet [COLOR=blue !important]cable[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].
    The rest of what you need to know is outlined in docs on the Sky CD.

    In case not, go to your browser and type 192.168.0.1 (or 192.168.1.1) press Enter (or whatever) and you should see a login box. The User name is admin and the default password is sky (on the Sky router I have -- but yours is newer).

    Once in go to wireless settings and choose a wireless security type (WPA, WEP).

    Enter a passphrase (and in WEP you should then also see a series of hex codes)
    Note down the passphrase (in WEP note the HEX codes -- or copy and save the string to notepad).

    Save and exit.


    I believe this code is the code the printer is looking for in the wireless connection. You should be able to bypass the pin entry for this security code. Good luck.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

airprint pin

,

apple airprint wps

,

entering router configuration apple

,
how to set up wps pin code into a ipad
,

hp printer how to enter pin in sky router

,
ipad printer wps pin code entry
,
is sky router ok for airprinters
,

set up airprint without wps

,

wps airprint

,

wps code on i pad for printer