1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

After 4.2 update, wifi intermittent

Discussion in 'iPad OS' started by msimpsonnj, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. msimpsonnj
    Offline

    msimpsonnj iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Got my iPad November 7th, worked great on my home wifi. Upgraded to 4.2, now my wifi connectivity is intermittent - it seems to cycle on and off. Apple telephone support tried to tell me that this could be because my router is wireless g instead of wireless n. I find it very hard to believe that Apple would not have made the iPad backward compatible to work with the type of wireless used by the majority of people. I suspect this is a continuation of the wifi bug that delayed the release of the update and the phone support dude didn't want to deal with it. Anyone else have this problem and any fixes?
  2. Pocobear
    Offline

    Pocobear iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia, usa
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0
    Go to SETTINGS -GENERAL - NETWORK - WIFI - Choose Network - to the right of your network name, tap the blue arrow, tap "Forget this Network" at the top of the page.
    Now re-setup your network password and you should be good to go, we hope.
  3. msimpsonnj
    Offline

    msimpsonnj iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thanks - I tried that last night to no avail, but I'll try it again when I get home this evening. Although I don't think this should matter, my network is secured only by mac address filtering (no password, but devices whose mac addresses are not in my filter cannot gain access). So to the extent part of the process is to re-setup my network password, there isn't one....

    Thanks for the help, I'll post the results later tonight.
  4. Al Rogers
    Offline

    Al Rogers iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    My GPS program has stopped working,Im locked on to the map showing Vera Cruz which is the Headquarters for Motion X GPS. The grid co-ordinates are locked in on the building and I cant seem to change it no matter what I do. I contacted the developer and they told me it could be a chip falure in my iPad,thats strange because it was working fine prior to the update. Any GPS Motion X experts out there that can help me out. The GPS button is also stuck on manual. Thanks for any help.

    Al.
  5. Al Rogers
    Offline

    Al Rogers iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Maybe this post will help others with the same problem I HAD.After reading step by step the new Owners Guide I found out there is a setting called LOCATION SERVICE,you must put a check mark in the box and all mapping programs will work.

    Al.
  6. msimpsonnj
    Offline

    msimpsonnj iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    While I appreciate the information, Al, this post should really be posted as a new thread, as your issue has nothing to do with the WiFi issue I am having. I mention this only because in order for forums such as this to function properly, the posts in a thread should focus on the issue identified in the initial post and not go off onto tangents.

    Thanks
  7. Al Rogers
    Offline

    Al Rogers iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Well I am using a Wi-Fi connection to acquire the satellites so I assumed it was a Wi-Fi problem I was having just like others were having with the Beta version. But I will pick up my marbles and stand in the corner.

    Al.
  8. chisaki
    Offline

    chisaki iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Looks like msimpsonni wants to control the forum. Well I was going to tell him how to fix his problem, it is a simple fix, but with his ego he should be able to find the answer himself.
  9. msimpsonnj
    Offline

    msimpsonnj iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    No, no desire to control the forum, just a polite request to keep threads on topic so that we all can find our answers without veering off course. If that's ego, so be it - I consider it being helpful to the forum as a whole. Frankly, if someone else has the GPS problem that Al experienced and solved, it will be much harder to find in this thread.

    If anyone has experienced the intermittent WiFi problem and can help with the solution, please share, and I'll do the same. Thanks
  10. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Before this thing goes any farther just keep in mind, be respectful to each other.

    OP if you feel your thread is getting hijacked just report it and let one of us step in.
  11. Al Rogers
    Offline

    Al Rogers iPad Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St.Louis Mo
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    I was thinking about what msimpsonn said in his post regarding me not sticking to the thread and he being new to the iPad maybe he doesnt know that the ipad has the GPS function installed and it feeds off of Wi-Fi and 3G,if so there is no problem.

    Al.
  12. DaveSt
    Offline

    DaveSt iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    626
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I can't say for sure that I have the same issue, but I have noticed that the wireless performance has changed a little bit for me as well since updating. In my house I have my main router in the basement, and it is a 802.11n router. To increase wireless coverage I also have an older 802.11g router running as a repeater upstairs. Before the update, I got much better performance connecting to the closer g router. Since the update I actually get better performance connecting to the n router despite the fact that the signal strength is much weaker. I ran periodic speed tests before and after the update, and my overall throughput is better connecting to a n based router after the update while it was better before the update connecting to the g based router. Perhaps the Apple tech was correct, although I can't understand why. I know Apple has been working quite a bit on wireless performance in the past few weeks, so perhaps things have been tweaked for newer router technology.

    Sorry I don't have an actual solution, just my observations in the two days since the upgrade.

    Do you have a 3G+wireless Ipad or just a wireless model?
  13. Smilesbypayet
    Offline

    Smilesbypayet iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Not sure if I should post this here or if there is another that would be more appropriate, but what if my WiFi has quit working completley? It took forever to get the update installed and working, and even though I now have most of the backup reinstalled, the WiFi simply will not go anywhere.

    Yes, it sees the WiFi network, and I've entered the password, and the iPad shows that it is connected, but if I press Safari or the AppStore, nothing happens except that little circling progress thingy.

    Suggestions?
  14. mipress
    Offline

    mipress iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paola, KS
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Wi-Fi more than intermittent after 4.2 upgrade

    Since I upgraded my iPad the other day to 4.2, now when I join a new wi-fi network, it shows I'm connected but never actually connects. Safari goes nowhere, just says "you are not connected to the internet" and the apps that require internet connectivity don't connect either. I do have to say that the few wi-fi connectons I've made have been at local restaurants but still why does it say and show a strong wifi connection but then simply not connect. How can this not be the very wifi problem that was supposed to be fixed but I think really isn't. Didn't have any problem like this before the 4.2 upgrade. P.S. What ABOUT location services?
  15. Mitchgo
    Offline

    Mitchgo iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cape Elizabeth, ME
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Dunno if this will work but i once had the issue you are describing. I tried two things....

    1. A reboot of the ipad (hold down the home and sleep buttons till you get the "Power off" option, slide the power off, hold down both buttons again till the apple logo appears)...

    2. actually try this first. go to Settings, WiFi and hit the little arrow button next to your wifi router/network. there's a big button towards the bottom that says "RENEW LEASE"...try this. it resets the ip address (or something, someone here i'm sure knows exactly what it does). this did fix it for me.

    there may also be authentication issues with your router. when i first got the pad it said i was "on" the router but the router wouldn't let me through to the 'net until i authorized the device (my router sucks and is wonky so i often have issues like this).

    anyway i'd try RENEW LEASE and then REBOOT and see if those work. GOOD LUCK...i feel your pain....
  16. mipress
    Offline

    mipress iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Paola, KS
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    WiFi works fine now

    Hello, I did try rebooting but not the way you'd described (just slid power off and powered back on, didn't know about holding down home and sleep switch) but to no avail. I tried last night at a different restaurant w. wifi and at first it didn't work but for a different symptom. This time it just said it couldn't join that particular network. Switched to a different network also available there, and it worked. Switched back, used arrow, and turned http proxy on and then off. No idea if that's specifically what fixed it, but it worked. And I have not had a problem since (went to another place w. wifi and it worked fine there). Thank you for suggesting lease renewal, though.
  17. Smilesbypayet
    Offline

    Smilesbypayet iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0

    Yup, tried those, too. Still no go.
  18. Bradleys
    Offline

    Bradleys iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am having the exact same issues. WIFI shows connected, but I cannot connect to the Internet. I can fix it short term by going into settings and turning the WIFI off and back on - it will work for a little while, then the behavior returns.
  19. jeffmdr
    Offline

    jeffmdr iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    intermittent wifi access

    Have had this problem even before the OS upgrade.
    Have the "n" router.
  20. BrennB
    Offline

    BrennB iPad Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0
    Try airplane mode on then off again sometimes that clears up lingering errors. Nothing else, could try to restore iOS and see if you get a cleaner setup.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple and ipad and intermittent wifi
,

ipad 4 keeps cycling on and off

,

ipad cycles on and off

,
ipad keeps cycling on and off
,
iphone 4 cycles wifi connection
,

iphone 4 wifi cycles on off

,

iphone wifi cycling on and off

,
iphone wlan intermittent breakoff
,
my ipad keeps cycling
,
wifi cycles on and off
,
wifi intermittent connection iphone 4
,
wifi issues with new ipad
,
wifi mobile intermittent slow
,
wifi on ipad 2 is intermitent