1. Due to the recent site upgrade, the iPadForums (iPF) App will no longer work. The new iPadForums.net website has been designed from the ground up to work perfectly from any mobile, tablet, or desktop computer using the built in internet browser. Create a shortcut to iPadForums.net on your home screen by following these steps: Create an icon for iPadForums.net

Acces Mac from iPad

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by ErikO65, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. ErikO65
    Offline

    ErikO65 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I have tried several applications like Desktop Connect, Splashtop etc. but without succes, so I will be grateful if someone can not only tell me the application(s) I need but also give me a detailed description of how to proceed. ( I am an amateur )I have iPad2 and MacPro with OS 7 ( Lion ).
  2. f4780y
    Offline

    f4780y Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,109
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Troon, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +634 / 0
    On your MacPro, open up System Preferences > Sharing, then tick the item "Remote Management". Without this set ON you won't be able to connect with any tool. Personally I use iTap VNC which works great, but I am sure the others you tried should work, provided you make the necessary changes above.

    You may also have to set the Options in the "Remote Management" screen. Click the Options button and check all the boxes just to make sure you can get it working. Then remove any options you do not want users to have.

    Hope that helps.
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN
    Offline

    Tim SPRACKLEN iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,246
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +121 / 0
    You beat me to it, Leigh...

    Tim
  4. Gabriel1
    Offline

    Gabriel1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,132
    Thanks Received:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cranbrook, Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +747 / 0
    May also be worth looking at screens, it's more expensive that iTap but looks super easy to use, I'm planning on trying it in the next week or so.....

    http://edovia.com/screens

    The Archangel
  5. Poser
    Offline

    Poser iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    816
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    toronto
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0
    with splashtop, you need the splashtop streamer.
  6. ErikO65
    Offline

    ErikO65 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for your quick reply. As you suggested I downloaded iTap RDP. When I continued I got the message "The RDP host is not reachable". I hit "connect"and then I was told "failed to establish TCP connection", then I hit "Help" and on the following screen I could tap the icon for bookmarks in the menuline and to my surprise it worked . I could search for radio stations but there was no sound. I can understand I have made something wrong from the very beginning and hope
    you have the patience to help me.
    Kind regards
    Erik Olsen
  7. snowboarder8985
    Offline

    snowboarder8985 iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
  8. ErikO65
    Offline

    ErikO65 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Hello Noobi
    Thank you for your mail,It was very useful, However I am now using screens
  9. Pazuzu
    Offline

    Pazuzu iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    I'm in love with Jump desktop... Use it everyday... And setup is extremely easy... Uses your google account as verification and it connects you to any computer that has the freeware installed on... The app costs money,but it's cheap... The software for Macs and Pcs are both free.. :D

    YOU ARE TEARIN ME APART, LISA!
  10. ErikO65
    Offline

    ErikO65 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for the info. It was very useful.I was not aware of the amount of software to be found on the net. I now use Screens
  11. ErikO65
    Offline

    ErikO65 iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    denmark
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Thank you for the info . Ii was very useful. I did not know the huge amount of software packages one could find on the net. I ended up with Screens.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
access mac screen from ipad
,
failed to establish tcp connection itap
,
failed to establish tcp connection itap mac
,
failed to establish tcp connection rdp
,
host is not reachable microsoft rdp
,
host is not reachable remote desktop
,
host is not reachable remote destop
,
ipad itap mobile error failed to establish tcp connection
,
itap failed to establish tcp connection
,
itap rdp failed to establish tcp
,
itap rdp failed to establish tcp connection.
,

itap rdp host is not reachable

,
itap rdp mobile failed to establish tcp connection
,
itap vnc failed to establish tcp
,
itap vnc host not reachable
,

rdp host is not reachable

,
rdp host is not reachable itap
,
rdp host not reachable
,

the rdp host is not reachable

,
the rdp host is not reachable itap