Acces Mac from iPad

Discussion in 'iPad 2 Forum' started by ErikO65, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. ErikO65

    ErikO65
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have tried several applications like Desktop Connect, Splashtop etc. but without succes, so I will be grateful if someone can not only tell me the application(s) I need but also give me a detailed description of how to proceed. ( I am an amateur )I have iPad2 and MacPro with OS 7 ( Lion ).
     
  2. f4780y

    f4780y
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,114
    Thanks Received:
    648
    On your MacPro, open up System Preferences > Sharing, then tick the item "Remote Management". Without this set ON you won't be able to connect with any tool. Personally I use iTap VNC which works great, but I am sure the others you tried should work, provided you make the necessary changes above.

    You may also have to set the Options in the "Remote Management" screen. Click the Options button and check all the boxes just to make sure you can get it working. Then remove any options you do not want users to have.

    Hope that helps.
     
  3. Tim SPRACKLEN

    Tim SPRACKLEN
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15,236
    Thanks Received:
    122
    You beat me to it, Leigh...

    Tim
     
  4. Gabriel1

    Gabriel1
    Expand Collapse
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17,096
    Thanks Received:
    747
    May also be worth looking at screens, it's more expensive that iTap but looks super easy to use, I'm planning on trying it in the next week or so.....

    http://edovia.com/screens

    The Archangel
     
  5. Poser

    Poser
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Junkie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    816
    Thanks Received:
    27
    with splashtop, you need the splashtop streamer.
     
  6. ErikO65

    ErikO65
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for your quick reply. As you suggested I downloaded iTap RDP. When I continued I got the message "The RDP host is not reachable". I hit "connect"and then I was told "failed to establish TCP connection", then I hit "Help" and on the following screen I could tap the icon for bookmarks in the menuline and to my surprise it worked . I could search for radio stations but there was no sound. I can understand I have made something wrong from the very beginning and hope
    you have the patience to help me.
    Kind regards
    Erik Olsen
     
  7. snowboarder8985

    snowboarder8985
    Expand Collapse
    iPad Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    152
    Thanks Received:
    1
  8. ErikO65

    ErikO65
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello Noobi
    Thank you for your mail,It was very useful, However I am now using screens
     
  9. Pazuzu

    Pazuzu
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Novice

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'm in love with Jump desktop... Use it everyday... And setup is extremely easy... Uses your google account as verification and it connects you to any computer that has the freeware installed on... The app costs money,but it's cheap... The software for Macs and Pcs are both free.. :D

    YOU ARE TEARIN ME APART, LISA!
     
  10. ErikO65

    ErikO65
    Expand Collapse
    iPF Noob

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thank you for the info. It was very useful.I was not aware of the amount of software to be found on the net. I now use Screens
     

Share This Page



Search tags for this page
failed to establish tcp connection itap
,
failed to establish tcp connection rdp
,
itap failed to establish tcp connection
,
itap rdp failed to establish tcp
,
itap rdp host is not reachable
,
itap vnc failed to establish tcp
,

rdp host is not reachable

,
rdp host not reachable
,

the rdp host is not reachable

,
the rdp host is not reachable itap