What's new
Apple iPad Forum 🍎

Welcome to the Apple iPad Forum, your one stop source for all things iPad. Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Absolute beginner

Riverman

iPF Noob
Reaction score
Just like to say hello to all you folks out there who take the trouble to help out those like me who often find themselves baffled by the technology.
As an older member of the information explosion I've often lagged behind in keeping up to date with developments.
It was only when I brought my iPod touch I became free of the PC workstation and discovered the wonderful world of surfing the web wirelessly, while listening to my mp3s.
Now I've brought the new iPad things have, and can only get better, except of one thing! I can't update iTunes to ios5 as my old PC running windows XL almost completes the installation and then flags up a notice telling me that there's a problem with Windows Installer. It cannot continue the install, and rolls back the update without completing. This obviously means my new iPad isn't recognised and can't be synced.
Any suggestions for an absolute beginner?
And by the way thanks for the advice about initial difficulties in setting op my POP3 mail account, it worked a treat.
Many Thanks,
Riverman

leelai

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hi and welcome to the Forum!

Have you the latest version of iTunes installed and have turned off your virus protection for the duration of the update.
Might also be an idea to reboot your PC.
I've moved your thread to our Help Section where you will receive a better response.